Review of Provenance By Ann Leckie

Provenance by Ann Leckie. ★★★1/2 Provenance is a new, stand alone novel set in the same world as the Imperial Radch trilogy, a stunning space opera story that begins with Ancillary Justice. However, you absolutely do not have need to have read the Imperial Radch trilogy. Provenance takes place on a new planet and has a new cast. Readers who found…

Review of Nemesis Games by James S.A. Corey

Nemesis Games by James S.A. Corey. ★★★★1/2 Nemesis Games is hands down my favorite Expanse book yet. If you’re not familiar with this space opera series, head over to my review of the first book, Leviathan Wakes. With the opening of the Gate in Cibola Burn, humanity has begun to stream out of the solar system, to the stars beyond….

Review of Cibola Burn by James S.A. Corey

Cibola Burn by James S.A. Corey. ★★★1/2 Cibola Burn is the fourth book in The Expanse series, a sci-fi series that’s getting increasingly more “space opera” like. If your not familiar with the series, you should head over to my review of the first book, Leviathan Wakes, because there have been some huge developments since the start of the…

Review of An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon

An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon. ★★★★★ TW: Sexual assault, violence, suicide An Unkindness of Ghosts is easily one of the best science fiction novels I’ve read all year. It’s a powerful book that would appeal to fans of Kameron Hurley and Octavia Butler. An Unkindness of Ghosts is set aboard the HSS Matilda, a generation ship that’s been…

Review of Abaddon’s Gate by James S.A. Corey

Abaddon’s Gate by James S.A. Corey. ★★★1/2 Welcome to the promised review of Abaddon’s Gate! This book is the third in the science fiction series, The Expanse. Although it has its own arc, I seriously suggest reading the books in order. Head over to Leviathan Wakes if you’re not familiar with the earlier books. Especially since I’m about to get…

Review of After the Crown by K.B. Wagers

After the Crown by K.B. Wagers. ★★★ I had a lot of fun with the fist book in the series, Behind the Throne. By comparison, this second book felt like running head first into a brick wall. I lost all sense of fun I had from the first book and had to slog my way through. I spent…

Review of Caliban’s War by James S.A. Corey

Caliban’s War by James S.A. Corey. ★★★★ Guess what? The protomolecule’s back! Despite an iffy start, I ended up having a lot of fun with the first book in The Expanse series, Leviathan Wakes, so I decided to delve straight into the second book, Caliban’s War, A.K.A. The Return of the Protomolecule. While this book has its own plot line, I…

Review of The Collapsing Empire by John Scalzi

The Collapsing Empire by John Scalzi. ★★★1/2 The Collapsing Empire is a promising start to a new space opera series. Relative to the rest of the genre, it’s also fairly short and easy to read. In the future, far flung human settlements are united by one thing: the Flow. While not well understood by scientists, the Flow is…

Review of Leviathan Wakes by James S.A. Corey

Leviathan Wakes by James S.A. Corey. ★★★1/2 Leviathan Wakes had been languishing on my TBR pile for at least a year before I picked it up for a read along. And I’m glad I finally got to it. While it has room to be improved, Leviathan Wakes is a darn good, rollicking science fiction story. Several hundred years in the…

10 Space Stories Written by Women

I was originally going to make this a list of female authored space operas, but then I started going down the rabbit hole of asking, “What books qualify as space operas?” Someday in the future, I may do a list that’s more specifically space operas, not just books set in space. First I’ll probably need…

Review of Six Wakes by Mur Lafferty

Six Wakes by Mur Lafferty. ★★★★ I’ve always loved science fiction mysteries, and Six Wakes did not disappoint. Maria Arena is a clone. Whenever she dies, she wakes up in a new body with memories from whenever she last downloaded them. But now Maria has awaken in a new body where her old one is still floating dead —…

Review of Raven Stratagem by Yoon Ha Lee

Raven Stratagem by Yoon Ha Lee. ★★★★ Last year, I read and loved Ninefox Gambit, a stunning military space opera. This year, I had the pleasure of reading the sequel, Raven Stratagem, and may have loved it even more than the first book. I highly encourage you to read these books, but they need to be read in order….