Review of Medusa Uploaded by Emily Devenport

Medusa Uploaded by Emily Devenport. ★★★★ I really loved this book! It was just so much fun. My biggest problem is that so few people have read it! So go out and get yourself a copy immediately. Oichi’s parents are rebels. At an early age, they provide her with illegal, implanted technology that lets her access all…

Review of Revenant Gun by Yoon Ha Lee

Revenant Gun by Yoon Ha Lee. ★★★★ What am I going to do with my life now that this series is over? I suppose I’m left with no choice but to read everything else Yoon Ha Lee ever writes. Revenant Gun is the third and final book in Lee’s  military space opera, The Machineries of Empire trilogy. I…

Review of The Tea Master and the Detective by Aliette de Bodard

The Tea Master and the Detective by Aliette de Bodard. ★★★1/2 Are you interested reading a gender-bent version of Sherlock Holmes? Where Watson is also a sentient spaceship? Then I suggest you get yourself a copy of The Tea Master and the Detective, a novella by Aliette de Bodard. The Shadow’s Child has lost most of her family and…

Review of Persepolis Rising by James S.A. Corey

Persepolis Rising by James S.A. Corey. ★★★★ Are you reading the Expanse series? Yes? Good. No? Well, maybe you should reconsider. Seven books in, and the Expanse is still going strong. A lot of times series start to loose their way or collapse under their own weight. But the Expanse clearly has an end goal in mind,…

Review of The Wrong Stars by Tim Pratt

The Wrong Stars by Tim Pratt. ★★★★ It feels like forever since I’ve had so much fun with a book! Callie and the rest of the crew of The White Raven exist far out on the edge of the solar system, doing salvage runs and acting as the closest thing to a police force. Then on a routine salvage…

Throwback Thursday: Old Man’s War by John Scalzi

Old Man’s War by John Scalzi. ★★★ Scalzi’s books can be hit or miss for me, but at least I always find them to be fairly entertaining. On his 75th birthday, John Perry visits his wife’s grave. Then, he signs up to join the Colonial Defense Force, the military branch that protects all of human space from…

Review of Babylon’s Ashes by James S.A. Corey

Babylon’s Ashes by James S.A. Corey. ★★★★ While it doesn’t match the intensity of Nemesis Games, Babylon’s Ashes is another solid entry into the Expanse series. If you’re unfamiliar with the Expanse, it’s a space opera where humanity has colonized Mars and the asteroid belt. Political intrigue, war, and some extraterrestrial discoveries make this a very exciting series. I’ve been…

Review of Barbary Station by R.E. Stearns

Barbary Station by R.E. Stearns.  ★★★1/2 Interested in a novel where lesbian space pirates fight a rogue AI? Then Barbary Station is the book for you. Adda and Iridian decided that the best hope for their future lies in piracy. How else could they pay off their student debt? So they concoct a plan to get in with a…

Review of Provenance By Ann Leckie

Provenance by Ann Leckie. ★★★1/2 Provenance is a new, stand alone novel set in the same world as the Imperial Radch trilogy, a stunning space opera story that begins with Ancillary Justice. However, you absolutely do not have need to have read the Imperial Radch trilogy. Provenance takes place on a new planet and has a new cast. Readers who found…

Review of Nemesis Games by James S.A. Corey

Nemesis Games by James S.A. Corey. ★★★★1/2 Nemesis Games is hands down my favorite Expanse book yet. If you’re not familiar with this space opera series, head over to my review of the first book, Leviathan Wakes. With the opening of the Gate in Cibola Burn, humanity has begun to stream out of the solar system, to the stars beyond….

Review of Cibola Burn by James S.A. Corey

Cibola Burn by James S.A. Corey. ★★★1/2 Cibola Burn is the fourth book in The Expanse series, a sci-fi series that’s getting increasingly more “space opera” like. If your not familiar with the series, you should head over to my review of the first book, Leviathan Wakes, because there have been some huge developments since the start of the…

Review of An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon

An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon. ★★★★★ TW: Sexual assault, violence, suicide An Unkindness of Ghosts is easily one of the best science fiction novels I’ve read all year. It’s a powerful book that would appeal to fans of Kameron Hurley and Octavia Butler. An Unkindness of Ghosts is set aboard the HSS Matilda, a generation ship that’s been…