Throwback Thursday: The Gilda Stories by Jewelle L. Gomez

The Gilda Stories by Jewelle Gomez. ★★★ Trigger warning: sexual assault  This collection of black lesbian vampire stories is more focused on the idea of immortality than vampire lore. The Girl was born a slave in the American South. She escapes and is on the run when a slave catcher finds her and tries to rape her;…

Review of An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon

An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon. ★★★★★ TW: Sexual assault, violence, suicide An Unkindness of Ghosts is easily one of the best science fiction novels I’ve read all year. It’s a powerful book that would appeal to fans of Kameron Hurley and Octavia Butler. An Unkindness of Ghosts is set aboard the HSS Matilda, a generation ship that’s been…

Review of Not Your Villain by C.B. Lee

Not Your Villain by C.B. Lee. ★★★1/2 Not Your Villain is the sequel to Not Your Sidekick, an adorable queer superhero story that couldn’t help but warm my heart. While there’s efforts made to make Not Your Villain work as a stand alone, I think you’re better off reading the series in order. Not Your Villain follows a new protagonist, Bells, who’s got…

Review of Nyxia by Scott Reintgen

Nyxia by Scott Reintgen. ★★1/2 This debut YA science fiction novel felt like a bunch of other YA science fiction novels all shoved in a blender. Particularly The Hunger Games and Ender’s Game. Emmett Atwater is one of ten teenagers recruited by the Babel Corporation to sent aboard a spaceship to an alien planet, where he will mine a new…

Review of Abaddon’s Gate by James S.A. Corey

Abaddon’s Gate by James S.A. Corey. ★★★1/2 Welcome to the promised review of Abaddon’s Gate! This book is the third in the science fiction series, The Expanse. Although it has its own arc, I seriously suggest reading the books in order. Head over to Leviathan Wakes if you’re not familiar with the earlier books. Especially since I’m about to get…

Review of The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories by Ken Liu

The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories by Ken Liu. ★★★1/2 While I never made it through The Grace of Kings, I’ve discovered that I quite like some of Ken Liu’s shorter fiction. The Paper Menagerie is an anthology of his shorter fiction, much of which has science fiction or fantasy elements. The stories tend to be concept focused rather than…

Review of After the Crown by K.B. Wagers

After the Crown by K.B. Wagers. ★★★ I had a lot of fun with the fist book in the series, Behind the Throne. By comparison, this second book felt like running head first into a brick wall. I lost all sense of fun I had from the first book and had to slog my way through. I spent…

Review of Caliban’s War by James S.A. Corey

Caliban’s War by James S.A. Corey. ★★★★ Guess what? The protomolecule’s back! Despite an iffy start, I ended up having a lot of fun with the first book in The Expanse series, Leviathan Wakes, so I decided to delve straight into the second book, Caliban’s War, A.K.A. The Return of the Protomolecule. While this book has its own plot line, I…

Review of The Little Homo Sapiens Scientist

The Little Homo Sapiens Scientist by S.L. Huang. ★★★1/2 If a queer retelling of The Little Mermaid is of interest, then you should check out The Little Homo Sapiens Scientist by S.L. Huang. Only, think the Hans Christian Anderson original, not the happily ever after Disney version. Dr. Cadence Mbell has devoted her life to studying the atargati, the sentient, deep sea…

Review of Runtime by S.B. Divya

Runtime by S.B. Divya. ★★★ In a future where America’s class system is even more stratified, Marmeg Guinto is determined to run in the Minerva Sierra Challenge, a day-long race across the Sierra Nevada where all the contestants have cybernetic enhancements. But most of the contestants also have the newest gear and corporate sponsorships. Marmeg has none of these….

Review of The Collapsing Empire by John Scalzi

The Collapsing Empire by John Scalzi. ★★★1/2 The Collapsing Empire is a promising start to a new space opera series. Relative to the rest of the genre, it’s also fairly short and easy to read. In the future, far flung human settlements are united by one thing: the Flow. While not well understood by scientists, the Flow is…

Review of Sovereign by April Daniels

Sovereign by April Daniels. ★★★1/2 Danny is back in this sequel to YA superhero book Dreadnought. Sovereign has it’s own plotline, but it continues the threat of Nemesis and Danny’s character growth. Thus, I’d recommend reading the series in order. Nine months after Danny debuted as Dreadnought and publicly came out as lesbian and transgender, she’s stretched to the breaking…