Review of Sea of Strangers by Erica Cameron

Sea of Strangers by Erica Cameron. ★★★ Sea of Strangers is the sequel to Erica Cameron’s YA, survival oriented fantasy Island of Exiles. This is a series you definitely need to read in order, so head on over to my review of Island of Exiles if you’re not familiar with it. While  Sea of Strangers had a bit of middle-of-the-trilogy slump, this is…

Review of Provenance By Ann Leckie

Provenance by Ann Leckie. ★★★1/2 Provenance is a new, stand alone novel set in the same world as the Imperial Radch trilogy, a stunning space opera story that begins with Ancillary Justice. However, you absolutely do not have need to have read the Imperial Radch trilogy. Provenance takes place on a new planet and has a new cast. Readers who found…

Review of Extraction by BR Sanders

Extraction by B.R. Sanders.  ★★★ Extraction is a loose sequel to B.R. Sanders earlier fantasy novel, Resistance. When I say “loose,” I mean it. You don’t need to have read Resistance first, since Extraction mostly focuses on new characters. It’s also set in the same world as B.R. Sanders’ most popular work, Ariah. Rethnali is a young (and newly appointed) captain of a…

Review of Autonomous by Annalee Newitz

Autonomous by Annalee Newitz. ★★★ Unfortunately, Autonomous did not live up to my hopes. This vision of the future is a corporate dystopia that’s sometimes a bit too eerily close to our lives today. After the creation of self aware AI’s, laws changed to allow them to be legally indentured until they’d worked off the price of their creation….

Review of Dissension by Stacey Berg

Dissension by Stacey Berg. ★★★★ I first heard of Dissension while sitting at home on the couch, next to my mother who was reading a magazine put out by the Houston medical center. She made a noise, and when I asked her what it was, she passed me the magazine, open to an article about a local doctor…

10 Science Fiction Books with Queer Leads

Hello everyone! As part of Sci-Fi Month, I’ve decided to write a list of some of my favorite science fiction books with queer protagonists. These books contain protagonists who are bi, lesbian, ace, intersex, trans, or other LGBTQIAP+ identities and span subgenres from military science fiction to techno-thrillers to superheroes.

Review of The Red Threads of Fortune by JY Yang

The Red Threads of Fortune by JY Yang. ★★★★1/2 TW: suicide ideation I loved this little novella. It’s got awesome things like giant raptors and flying nagas, but the real reason I love this story is the deep emotional heart of the protagonist overcoming her grief and choosing to live after the death of her daughter. I…

Throwback Thursday: The Gilda Stories by Jewelle L. Gomez

The Gilda Stories by Jewelle Gomez. ★★★ Trigger warning: sexual assault  This collection of black lesbian vampire stories is more focused on the idea of immortality than vampire lore. The Girl was born a slave in the American South. She escapes and is on the run when a slave catcher finds her and tries to rape her;…

Review of City of Betrayal by Claudie Arseneault

City of Betrayal by Claudie Arseneault. ★★★1/2 City of Betrayal is the sequel to City of Strife, a second-world political fantasy with an all queer cast. I recommend reading the series in order, as City of Betrayal picks up directly where the first book left off. Also, I’m not going to be able to avoid spoilers for the first book in…

Review of The Stone in the Skull by Elizabeth Bear

The Stone in the Skull by Elizabeth Bear. ★★★1/2 The Stone in the Skull is the start of a sequel trilogy to Bear’s epic fantasy series that began with Range of Ghosts. However, you do not need to be at all familiar with the previous series. The Stone in the Skull takes place over fifty years later and has an almost…

Review of An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon

An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon. ★★★★★ TW: Sexual assault, violence, suicide An Unkindness of Ghosts is easily one of the best science fiction novels I’ve read all year. It’s a powerful book that would appeal to fans of Kameron Hurley and Octavia Butler. An Unkindness of Ghosts is set aboard the HSS Matilda, a generation ship that’s been…

Review of Tremontaine: Season Two

Tremontaine: Season Two by Ellen Kushner, Joel Derfner, Tessa Gratton, Mary Anne Mohanraj, Paul Witcover, Racheline Maltese, and Alaya Dawn Johnson. ★★★★ Tremontaine is a prequel to Ellen Kushner’s Riverside books (a series made up of three stand alone novels). However, you don’t have had to have read any of Kushner’s books to enjoy Tremontaine. I do suggest…