Review of The Red Threads of Fortune by JY Yang

The Red Threads of Fortune by JY Yang. ★★★★1/2 TW: suicide ideation I loved this little novella. It’s got awesome things like giant raptors and flying nagas, but the real reason I love this story is the deep emotional heart of the protagonist overcoming her grief and choosing to live after the death of her daughter. I…

Throwback Thursday: The Gilda Stories by Jewelle L. Gomez

The Gilda Stories by Jewelle Gomez. ★★★ Trigger warning: sexual assault  This collection of black lesbian vampire stories is more focused on the idea of immortality than vampire lore. The Girl was born a slave in the American South. She escapes and is on the run when a slave catcher finds her and tries to rape her;…

Review of City of Betrayal by Claudie Arseneault

City of Betrayal by Claudie Arseneault. ★★★1/2 City of Betrayal is the sequel to City of Strife, a second-world political fantasy with an all queer cast. I recommend reading the series in order, as City of Betrayal picks up directly where the first book left off. Also, I’m not going to be able to avoid spoilers for the first book in…

Review of The Stone in the Skull by Elizabeth Bear

The Stone in the Skull by Elizabeth Bear. ★★★1/2 The Stone in the Skull is the start of a sequel trilogy to Bear’s epic fantasy series that began with Range of Ghosts. However, you do not need to be at all familiar with the previous series. The Stone in the Skull takes place over fifty years later and has an almost…

Review of An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon

An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon. ★★★★★ TW: Sexual assault, violence, suicide An Unkindness of Ghosts is easily one of the best science fiction novels I’ve read all year. It’s a powerful book that would appeal to fans of Kameron Hurley and Octavia Butler. An Unkindness of Ghosts is set aboard the HSS Matilda, a generation ship that’s been…

Review of Tremontaine: Season Two

Tremontaine: Season Two by Ellen Kushner, Joel Derfner, Tessa Gratton, Mary Anne Mohanraj, Paul Witcover, Racheline Maltese, and Alaya Dawn Johnson. ★★★★ Tremontaine is a prequel to Ellen Kushner’s Riverside books (a series made up of three stand alone novels). However, you don’t have had to have read any of Kushner’s books to enjoy Tremontaine. I do suggest…

Review of Not Your Villain by C.B. Lee

Not Your Villain by C.B. Lee. ★★★1/2 Not Your Villain is the sequel to Not Your Sidekick, an adorable queer superhero story that couldn’t help but warm my heart. While there’s efforts made to make Not Your Villain work as a stand alone, I think you’re better off reading the series in order. Not Your Villain follows a new protagonist, Bells, who’s got…

Review of Taste of Marrow by Sarah Gailey

Taste of Marrow by Sarah Gailey. ★★★★ Taste of Marrow is the sequel to Sarah Gailey’s gloriously hippo filled alternate history romp, River of Teeth. While Taste of Marrow has it’s own plot line, it builds on the back of the first novella, so I suggest you pick up River of Teeth before submerging yourself into this one. Also, spoilers for the first…

Review of Ruin of Angels by Max Gladstone

Ruin of Angels by Max Gladstone. ★★★★ Max Gladstone returns to the world of his Craft Sequence and especially the character of Kai, a protagonist in the prior novel Full Fathom Five. While there are references to the events of that novel, the plot stands on its own. I don’t know if it’s the first book I’d suggest…

Review of Rituals by Roz Kaveney

Rituals by Roz Kaveney. ★★★1/2 Are you looking for queer, unconventional fantasy centered around female characters? Than Rituals by Roz Kaveney is for you. Before I get into a plot synopsis, I think it’s necessary to explain the unusual structure of Rituals. It’s almost more like a collection of novellas or novelettes than a standard book. There’s not really a…

Review of The Tiger’s Watch by Julia Ember

The Tiger’s Watch by Julia Ember. ★★★ I wanted to read The Seafarer’s Kiss by Julia Ember, so when I saw she had another book on Netgalley, I went and requested it. Lesson learned: when you want to read one book by an author, don’t pick up a completely different book instead. You’d think this would be obvious, but…

Review of The Little Homo Sapiens Scientist

The Little Homo Sapiens Scientist by S.L. Huang. ★★★1/2 If a queer retelling of The Little Mermaid is of interest, then you should check out The Little Homo Sapiens Scientist by S.L. Huang. Only, think the Hans Christian Anderson original, not the happily ever after Disney version. Dr. Cadence Mbell has devoted her life to studying the atargati, the sentient, deep sea…