Review of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao. ★★★★ TW: physical abuse In short, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns is the origin story of the evil Queen from “Snow White,” set in an East Asian inspired fantasy world. So if a YA fantasy with a complex anti-heroine at it’s center sounds like you’re sort of thing, then you…

Review of Sea of Strangers by Erica Cameron

Sea of Strangers by Erica Cameron. ★★★ Sea of Strangers is the sequel to Erica Cameron’s YA, survival oriented fantasy Island of Exiles. This is a series you definitely need to read in order, so head on over to my review of Island of Exiles if you’re not familiar with it. While  Sea of Strangers had a bit of middle-of-the-trilogy slump, this is…

Review of Artemis by Andy Weir

Artemis by Andy Weir. ★★★1/2 Confession: I didn’t finish The Martian. Look, I blame it on the audio book, okay? I might have done better if I’d read it as text. Anyway, the good news is that I got more enjoyment out of Andy Weir’s second novel, Artemis. Sure, it’s not without its flaws, but after a somewhat slow…

Review of Jade City by Fonda Lee

Jade City by Fonda Lee. ★★★★ I had a lot of fun with Jade City! The story starts off slow, but by the second half, I was having trouble putting it down. Over twenty years ago, the island nation of Kekon won their freedom through the feats of the Green Bone warriors and their loyal Lantern Men. Now, Kekon…

Review of The Red Threads of Fortune by JY Yang

The Red Threads of Fortune by JY Yang. ★★★★1/2 TW: suicide ideation I loved this little novella. It’s got awesome things like giant raptors and flying nagas, but the real reason I love this story is the deep emotional heart of the protagonist overcoming her grief and choosing to live after the death of her daughter. I…

Throwback Thursday: The Gilda Stories by Jewelle L. Gomez

The Gilda Stories by Jewelle Gomez. ★★★ Trigger warning: sexual assault  This collection of black lesbian vampire stories is more focused on the idea of immortality than vampire lore. The Girl was born a slave in the American South. She escapes and is on the run when a slave catcher finds her and tries to rape her;…

Review of A Long Day in Lychford by Paul Cornell

A Long Day in Lychford by Paul Cornell. ★★★1/2 A Long Day in Lychford is the third in Paul Cornell’s Witches of Lychford series, a group of novellas that center on three women in a small town in rural England’s Cotswalds. Although each novella has its own plot line, I suggest reading them in order due to the…

Review of The Stone in the Skull by Elizabeth Bear

The Stone in the Skull by Elizabeth Bear. ★★★1/2 The Stone in the Skull is the start of a sequel trilogy to Bear’s epic fantasy series that began with Range of Ghosts. However, you do not need to be at all familiar with the previous series. The Stone in the Skull takes place over fifty years later and has an almost…

Review of An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon

An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon. ★★★★★ TW: Sexual assault, violence, suicide An Unkindness of Ghosts is easily one of the best science fiction novels I’ve read all year. It’s a powerful book that would appeal to fans of Kameron Hurley and Octavia Butler. An Unkindness of Ghosts is set aboard the HSS Matilda, a generation ship that’s been…

Review of Tremontaine: Season Two

Tremontaine: Season Two by Ellen Kushner, Joel Derfner, Tessa Gratton, Mary Anne Mohanraj, Paul Witcover, Racheline Maltese, and Alaya Dawn Johnson. ★★★★ Tremontaine is a prequel to Ellen Kushner’s Riverside books (a series made up of three stand alone novels). However, you don’t have had to have read any of Kushner’s books to enjoy Tremontaine. I do suggest…

Review of Not Your Villain by C.B. Lee

Not Your Villain by C.B. Lee. ★★★1/2 Not Your Villain is the sequel to Not Your Sidekick, an adorable queer superhero story that couldn’t help but warm my heart. While there’s efforts made to make Not Your Villain work as a stand alone, I think you’re better off reading the series in order. Not Your Villain follows a new protagonist, Bells, who’s got…

Review of The Bloodprint by Ausma Zehanat Khan

The Bloodprint by Ausma Zehanat Khan. ★★★ The Bloodprint is the start to a new epic fantasy series with Middle Eastern cultural influences. Arian’s homeland has been overtaken by the Talisman, a new organization that promotes an ideology of fear, ignorance, hatred of difference, and misogyny. As Companions of Hira, Arian and her friend Sinna are some of…