Review of The Red Threads of Fortune by JY Yang

The Red Threads of Fortune by JY Yang. ★★★★1/2 TW: suicide ideation I loved this little novella. It’s got awesome things like giant raptors and flying nagas, but the real reason I love this story is the deep emotional heart of the protagonist overcoming her grief and choosing to live after the death of her daughter. I…

Throwback Thursday: The Gilda Stories by Jewelle L. Gomez

The Gilda Stories by Jewelle Gomez. ★★★ Trigger warning: sexual assault  This collection of black lesbian vampire stories is more focused on the idea of immortality than vampire lore. The Girl was born a slave in the American South. She escapes and is on the run when a slave catcher finds her and tries to rape her;…

Review of A Long Day in Lychford by Paul Cornell

A Long Day in Lychford by Paul Cornell. ★★★1/2 A Long Day in Lychford is the third in Paul Cornell’s Witches of Lychford series, a group of novellas that center on three women in a small town in rural England’s Cotswalds. Although each novella has its own plot line, I suggest reading them in order due to the…

Review of The Stone in the Skull by Elizabeth Bear

The Stone in the Skull by Elizabeth Bear. ★★★1/2 The Stone in the Skull is the start of a sequel trilogy to Bear’s epic fantasy series that began with Range of Ghosts. However, you do not need to be at all familiar with the previous series. The Stone in the Skull takes place over fifty years later and has an almost…

Review of An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon

An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon. ★★★★★ TW: Sexual assault, violence, suicide An Unkindness of Ghosts is easily one of the best science fiction novels I’ve read all year. It’s a powerful book that would appeal to fans of Kameron Hurley and Octavia Butler. An Unkindness of Ghosts is set aboard the HSS Matilda, a generation ship that’s been…

Review of Tremontaine: Season Two

Tremontaine: Season Two by Ellen Kushner, Joel Derfner, Tessa Gratton, Mary Anne Mohanraj, Paul Witcover, Racheline Maltese, and Alaya Dawn Johnson. ★★★★ Tremontaine is a prequel to Ellen Kushner’s Riverside books (a series made up of three stand alone novels). However, you don’t have had to have read any of Kushner’s books to enjoy Tremontaine. I do suggest…

Review of Not Your Villain by C.B. Lee

Not Your Villain by C.B. Lee. ★★★1/2 Not Your Villain is the sequel to Not Your Sidekick, an adorable queer superhero story that couldn’t help but warm my heart. While there’s efforts made to make Not Your Villain work as a stand alone, I think you’re better off reading the series in order. Not Your Villain follows a new protagonist, Bells, who’s got…

Review of The Bloodprint by Ausma Zehanat Khan

The Bloodprint by Ausma Zehanat Khan. ★★★ The Bloodprint is the start to a new epic fantasy series with Middle Eastern cultural influences. Arian’s homeland has been overtaken by the Talisman, a new organization that promotes an ideology of fear, ignorance, hatred of difference, and misogyny. As Companions of Hira, Arian and her friend Sinna are some of…

Review of Taste of Marrow by Sarah Gailey

Taste of Marrow by Sarah Gailey. ★★★★ Taste of Marrow is the sequel to Sarah Gailey’s gloriously hippo filled alternate history romp, River of Teeth. While Taste of Marrow has it’s own plot line, it builds on the back of the first novella, so I suggest you pick up River of Teeth before submerging yourself into this one. Also, spoilers for the first…

Review of Nyxia by Scott Reintgen

Nyxia by Scott Reintgen. ★★1/2 This debut YA science fiction novel felt like a bunch of other YA science fiction novels all shoved in a blender. Particularly The Hunger Games and Ender’s Game. Emmett Atwater is one of ten teenagers recruited by the Babel Corporation to sent aboard a spaceship to an alien planet, where he will mine a new…

Review of Ruin of Angels by Max Gladstone

Ruin of Angels by Max Gladstone. ★★★★ Max Gladstone returns to the world of his Craft Sequence and especially the character of Kai, a protagonist in the prior novel Full Fathom Five. While there are references to the events of that novel, the plot stands on its own. I don’t know if it’s the first book I’d suggest…

Review of Even the Darkest Stars by Heather Fawcett

Even the Darkest Stars by Heather Fawcett.  ★★★1/2 Even the Darkest Star is a debut fantasy YA novel that takes place in a setting inspired by the Himalayan mountains with a mountain climbing heroine. While it suffers from some predictable YA tropes (think love triangles), I think there’s a lot of people who would enjoy it. Kamzin’s mother…