Review of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao. ★★★★ TW: physical abuse In short, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns is the origin story of the evil Queen from “Snow White,” set in an East Asian inspired fantasy world. So if a YA fantasy with a complex anti-heroine at it’s center sounds like you’re sort of thing, then you…

Review of Where the Stars Rise: Asian Science Fiction and Fantasy

Where the Stars Rise: Asian Science Fiction and Fantasy edited by Lucas K. Law and Derwin Mak. ★★★ Where the Stars Rise is a short story anthology that didn’t quite meet my high expectations. Where the Stars Rise collects twenty-three short stories from authors living in Asia or who are part of the Asian diaspora. I was already familiar…

10 Science Fiction Books by Authors of Color

If there’s a canon of science fiction, it’s pretty overwhelmingly white. But those aren’t the only stories told, and white men aren’t the only people telling the stories. So as part of Sci-Fi Month, I’ve decided to put some focus on science fiction stories written by people of color.

Review of Gemsigns by Stephanie Saulter

Gemsigns by Stephanie Saulter. ★★★1/2 For the last century, companies have been creating and exploiting gems — genetically modified people. Gems have recently been granted freedom from the corporations, but questions as to their legal status and place in society still have to be answered. The European Union is holding a conference to determine how the law…

Review of The City of Brass by S.A. Chakraborty

The City of Brass by S.A. Chakraborty. ★★★★ This debut fantasy novel is truly splendid, embedding the 18th century Middle East with the magic of the djinn. Nahri is a con artist making her living on the streets of Cairo. While she knows some of the things she can do are not ordinary (she can perceive illness…

Review of The Murders of Molly Southbourne by Tade Thompson

The Murders of Molly Southbourne by Tade Thompson. ★★★1/2 Trigger warning: Self harm The Murders of Molly Southbourne is a story that works perfectly for its novella length. Whenever Molly bleeds, a copy of herself is created. The Mollies may be friendly at first, but within a few days, they’ll inevitably turn vicious and try to kill the…

Review of Jade City by Fonda Lee

Jade City by Fonda Lee. ★★★★ I had a lot of fun with Jade City! The story starts off slow, but by the second half, I was having trouble putting it down. Over twenty years ago, the island nation of Kekon won their freedom through the feats of the Green Bone warriors and their loyal Lantern Men. Now, Kekon…

Review of The Red Threads of Fortune by JY Yang

The Red Threads of Fortune by JY Yang. ★★★★1/2 TW: suicide ideation I loved this little novella. It’s got awesome things like giant raptors and flying nagas, but the real reason I love this story is the deep emotional heart of the protagonist overcoming her grief and choosing to live after the death of her daughter. I…

Throwback Thursday: The Gilda Stories by Jewelle L. Gomez

The Gilda Stories by Jewelle Gomez. ★★★ Trigger warning: sexual assault  This collection of black lesbian vampire stories is more focused on the idea of immortality than vampire lore. The Girl was born a slave in the American South. She escapes and is on the run when a slave catcher finds her and tries to rape her;…

Throwback Thursday: The Riven Shield by Michelle West

The Riven Shield by Michelle West. ★★★ Trigger warning: rape I have returned to Michelle West’s Sun Sword series! This epic fantasy series starts with The Broken Crown and contains plenty of well written female characters. It’s also got what I think of as an older fantasy book style, with fairly dense prose, tons of characters, and battles between…

Review of An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon

An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon. ★★★★★ TW: Sexual assault, violence, suicide An Unkindness of Ghosts is easily one of the best science fiction novels I’ve read all year. It’s a powerful book that would appeal to fans of Kameron Hurley and Octavia Butler. An Unkindness of Ghosts is set aboard the HSS Matilda, a generation ship that’s been…