Review of The Red Threads of Fortune by JY Yang

The Red Threads of Fortune by JY Yang. ★★★★1/2 TW: suicide ideation I loved this little novella. It’s got awesome things like giant raptors and flying nagas, but the real reason I love this story is the deep emotional heart of the protagonist overcoming her grief and choosing to live after the death of her daughter. I…

Throwback Thursday: The Gilda Stories by Jewelle L. Gomez

The Gilda Stories by Jewelle Gomez. ★★★ Trigger warning: sexual assault  This collection of black lesbian vampire stories is more focused on the idea of immortality than vampire lore. The Girl was born a slave in the American South. She escapes and is on the run when a slave catcher finds her and tries to rape her;…

Throwback Thursday: The Riven Shield by Michelle West

The Riven Shield by Michelle West. ★★★ Trigger warning: rape I have returned to Michelle West’s Sun Sword series! This epic fantasy series starts with The Broken Crown and contains plenty of well written female characters. It’s also got what I think of as an older fantasy book style, with fairly dense prose, tons of characters, and battles between…

Review of An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon

An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon. ★★★★★ TW: Sexual assault, violence, suicide An Unkindness of Ghosts is easily one of the best science fiction novels I’ve read all year. It’s a powerful book that would appeal to fans of Kameron Hurley and Octavia Butler. An Unkindness of Ghosts is set aboard the HSS Matilda, a generation ship that’s been…

Review of Not Your Villain by C.B. Lee

Not Your Villain by C.B. Lee. ★★★1/2 Not Your Villain is the sequel to Not Your Sidekick, an adorable queer superhero story that couldn’t help but warm my heart. While there’s efforts made to make Not Your Villain work as a stand alone, I think you’re better off reading the series in order. Not Your Villain follows a new protagonist, Bells, who’s got…

Review of The Bloodprint by Ausma Zehanat Khan

The Bloodprint by Ausma Zehanat Khan. ★★★ The Bloodprint is the start to a new epic fantasy series with Middle Eastern cultural influences. Arian’s homeland has been overtaken by the Talisman, a new organization that promotes an ideology of fear, ignorance, hatred of difference, and misogyny. As Companions of Hira, Arian and her friend Sinna are some of…

Review of Under the Pendulum Sun by Jeannette Ng

Under the Pendulum Sun by Jeannette Ng. ★★★★1/2 Under the Pendulum Sun is a darkly enchanting, Gothic tale of the fae. In an alternate version of nineteenth century England, trade has been established with Arcadia, the realm of the fae. And among those heading to Arcadia are Christian missionaries, one of whom is Catherine Helston’s brother Laon. But as…

Review of The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories by Ken Liu

The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories by Ken Liu. ★★★1/2 While I never made it through The Grace of Kings, I’ve discovered that I quite like some of Ken Liu’s shorter fiction. The Paper Menagerie is an anthology of his shorter fiction, much of which has science fiction or fantasy elements. The stories tend to be concept focused rather than…

Review of The Little Homo Sapiens Scientist

The Little Homo Sapiens Scientist by S.L. Huang. ★★★1/2 If a queer retelling of The Little Mermaid is of interest, then you should check out The Little Homo Sapiens Scientist by S.L. Huang. Only, think the Hans Christian Anderson original, not the happily ever after Disney version. Dr. Cadence Mbell has devoted her life to studying the atargati, the sentient, deep sea…

Review of Runtime by S.B. Divya

Runtime by S.B. Divya. ★★★ In a future where America’s class system is even more stratified, Marmeg Guinto is determined to run in the Minerva Sierra Challenge, a day-long race across the Sierra Nevada where all the contestants have cybernetic enhancements. But most of the contestants also have the newest gear and corporate sponsorships. Marmeg has none of these….

Review of Persona by Genevieve Valentine

Persona by Genevieve Valentine. ★★★ Persona‘s a near future thriller that just never grabbed my interest. In Valentine’s version of the future, each country has a Face, a celebrity ambassador who represents in the country in the media but doesn’t actually get to make decisions. Suyana’s the face of United Amazonia Rainforest Confederation, a young country that desperately needs…

Review of The Prey of Gods by Nicky Drayden

The Prey of Gods by Nicky Drayden. ★★★1/2 The Prey of Gods combines futuristic South Africa with hallucinogenic drugs, ancient demi-goddesses, and AI revolts. It’s an eclectic collection that makes for a truly unique science fiction story. The best comparison I can think of is Neil Gaiman crossed with Lauren Beukes. Sydney’s a demi-goddess who thrives off…