Review of The Poppy War by R.F. Kuang

The Poppy War by R.F. Kuang. ★★★★★ TW: self harm, sexual violence, war crimes I loved this book. I cannot get over how amazing it is. The best comparison I can think of is N.K. Jemisin’s The Fifth Season, which really says something, doesn’t it? Rin is an orphaned peasant girl in the backwater Rooster Province, but despite all…

Throwback Thursday: Stories of Your Life and Others by Ted Chiang

Stories of Your Life and Others by Ted Chiang. Alternatively titled, Arrival. ★★★★★ Stories of Your Life and Others is a truly amazing collection of science fiction short stories. Between them, the stories have a huge array of award nominations, and I can completely see why. Really, the quality of this collection is remarkable. The most famous story in…

Review of An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon

An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon. ★★★★★ TW: Sexual assault, violence, suicide An Unkindness of Ghosts is easily one of the best science fiction novels I’ve read all year. It’s a powerful book that would appeal to fans of Kameron Hurley and Octavia Butler. An Unkindness of Ghosts is set aboard the HSS Matilda, a generation ship that’s been…

Review of The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. ★★★★★ Sometimes I read a book that I have no idea how to review. A book that’s so remarkable, so moving and affecting, that anything I have to say will feel hollow by comparison. But I’m going to give this a go anyway. Most of what I review is either…

Review of The One Hundred Nights of Hero by Isabel Greenberg

The One Hundred Nights of Hero by Isabel Greenberg. ★★★★★ In The One Hundred Nights of Hero, Isabel Greenberg returns to the fantastical universe she created in her first graphic novel, The Encyclopedia of Early Earth. However, The One Hundred Nights of Hero involves all new characters and stands completely alone. The two graphic novels can be read in any order….

Review of The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage by Sydney Paudua

The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage by Sydney Padua. ★★★★★ The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage is an absolutely delightful graphic novel that contains a wealth of historical information regarding Ada Lovelace, Charles Babbage, and the history of computing while at the same time being relentlessly entertaining. The book begins with a brief history of…

Review of Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire. ★★★★★ Every Heart a Doorway is an elegant novella about what happens to children who go to magical worlds but then wind up back in this world, longing for the magical home they’ve lost. A woman named Eleanor West runs a school for the stranded teenagers, where at least they can be…

Review of The Secret History of the Mongol Queens by Jack Weatherford

The Secret History of the Mongol Queens: How the Daughters of Genghis Khan Rescued His Empire by Jack Weatherford. ★★★★★ A section from the ancient text The Secret History of the Mongols was cut away by censors, leaving only these words of Genghis Khan: “Let us reward our female offspring.” In The Secret History of the Mongol Queens, Jack Weatherford…

Review of Warchild by Karin Lowachee

Warchild by Karin Lowachee. ★★★★★ Trigger warning for rape and child abuse Warchild was an absolutely brutal book. When you look at the thematic material – the effects of war on children’s psychology – it’s no wonder. Warchild takes place against the background of war between humans and aliens and some humans who sympathize with them. Yet, Warchild is an intensely…

Review of The Encyclopedia of Early Earth by Isabel Greenberg

The Encyclopedia of Early Earth by Isabel Greenberg. ★★★★★ The Encyclopedia of Early Earth is a graphic novel about the power and beauty of storytelling. The book opens with a man from the Nords (the North Pole) falling in love with a woman from the South Pole. Due to fantastical magnetic reasons, they cannot touch each other, yet…