September 2017 Short Fiction Reading Part I

I’ve found myself with a lot less time for short fiction now that the school year’s resumed. Most of these I actually read in August, when I had more time. Hopefully I’ll find space for short stories as the semester continues.

“Four Stops” by G.V. Anderson

This flash fiction story is an eerie read that quickly drew me in.

“Weep for Day” by Indrapramit Das

I love the world Indra Das has created here. Humanity lives in the twilight zone between Day and Night, between the deathly heat of Day and the deadly chill of Night. But they aren’t alone; in Night live the Nightmares, and as humans push further into their territory, conflict ensues.

 

 

“Some Gods of El Paso” by Maria Dahvana Headley

I didn’t much care for this story. I like the core idea of an out law couple trading in illegal emotions, but the execution didn’t do it for me.

“Don’t Answer” by Nina Kiriki Hoffman

For one night every year, the narrator’s parents lock her in the upstairs bedroom with her younger sister. But this year, they say she’s old enough to join the adults.

“Imagine a World So Forgiving” by Margaret Killjoy

Caroline volunteered to check on how Earth’s terraforming was going, but she’d soon wish she hadn’t.

“The Nalendar” by Ann Leckie

This story reminded me of Small Gods by Terry Pratchett. In this world, there are a multitude of gods, all of whom grow strong off of prayer and belief. Umri knows better to make a deal with a god, but she ends up agreeing to take one in the form of a skink along the river with her. Turns out, she got herself in for a whole lot more than she realized…

“13 Ways to Detect Vampires Online” by Luc Reid

This piece of flash fiction is well worth reading.

“Welcome to Your Authentic Indian Experience™” by Rebecca Roanhorse

Wow, if you’re going to read only one story on this list, I think it should be this one. Jesse works at a virtual reality company that provides white tourists with “authentic Indian experiences.”

“Forty-Seven Dictums of Warfare” by Alex Shvartsman

I enjoyed this twisty flash fiction tale.

“Secret Keeper” by Bonnie Jo Stufflebeam

I think this is a retelling of The Phantom of the Opera? Only, I have to admit… I’ve never seen it. I do think this story works well enough on it’s own, although it’s not my favorite.

My top story of this week is Rebecca Roanhorse’s. It’s one I won’t be forgetting! If I had to chose a second up, I’d go with Indra Das’s. I’ve been meaning to read more by him after being so impressed with The Devourers, and this short story confirms it.

Leave a Reply

