August and September 2017 SFF Releases

New books! I’m about at the end of the 2017 summer releases, so it’s time for a new list of upcoming science fiction and fantasy books. Here are some of the stories I’m excited about.

31817749August 15th – The Stone Sky by N.K. Jemisin

I know I’m not the only one eagerly anticipating The Stone Sky! The final book in her Broken Earth series will complete what N.K. Jemisin started with The Fifth Season, one of the most brilliant fantasy novels I’ve ever read. I honestly have no idea how Jemisin will wrap this series up. It’s just so groundbreaking (pardon the pun)! However this phenomenal series ends, I’m betting that I won’t be disappointed.

32606889August 15th – The Lamb Will Slaughter the Lion by Margaret Killjoy

I’ve been hearing some positive things about this new Tor.com novella by Margaret Killjoy, an author who’s short fiction I’ve previously enjoyed. The story’s about Danielle Cain, a queer teen who stumbles into a squatter town that’s summoned a protective spirit. Only, the spirit begins to turn on its summoners… Can the town be saved? Can Danielle and her friends even get out with their lives?

29960675August 29th – Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller

I’ve been wanting to read this one ever since I heard that the protagonist was a genderfluid assassin. And guess what? I got an ARC and it was a ton of fun! While I think it could have been stronger (it suffers from some debut novel issues), I still enjoyed the heck out of it. And I can’t wait for it to be released so that everyone else can read it!

34649348September 1st – The Marrow Thieves by Cherie Dimaline

I haven’t yet given up on YA dystopia. Sure, the genre can feel like the same story regurgitated over and over again, but every so often I find a truly stellar book. I’m hoping The Marrow Thieves will be one of these. This story’s set in a future where most everyone has lost the ability to dream — except for North America’s Indigenous people, who’s bone marrow can lead to a cure. But taking their morrow often means death, leading our teen protagonist to flee.

26958226September 5th – Even the Darkest Star by Heather Fawcett

I first heard of this one over at one of Tammy‘s upcoming books posts, and I thought a YA fantasy book with mountain climbing sounded fun. Then I applied for and got approved for an ARC! I’ve already read it and am working on my review. The highlight of the book is the wonderful world building and Fawcett’s ability to suck me into her scenes, particularly the death defying mountain climbs and the cold bite of the wind.

31433704September 5th – The Ruin of Angels by Max Gladstone

I am a huge fan of Max Gladstone’s work, especially his Craft Sequence, a fantasy series where magic is the economy. The world building is so imaginative, and he writes great, diverse characters. And The Ruin of Angels is an all new story with an already established character, Kai from Full Fathom Five! I love Kai, I love this world, I love Max Gladstone’s writing, and I feel like he’s been getting better with each book. And I’ve got an ARC!

35066651September 12th – Taste of Marrow by Sarah Gailey

Earlier this year, I had a lot of fun with Sarah Gailey’s debut novella, A River of Teeth, a story of an America that might have been complete with hippos. My one criticism was that I wanted more. Well here comes a sequel, set to fulfill my wish! This novella follows the caper crew after the “operation” of the previous story. While I don’t know what the plot will be, I’m still excited to reunite with these characters and this world.

28078791September 12th – Odd & True by Cat Winters

I’ve been trying to read more diverse books lately, so I paid attention when I heard about this YA historical fantasy with a disabled protagonist. Plus, it’s a sister book! Tru grew up with her older sister’s stories of monsters and curses, but as she got older she quit believing in them. Then her sister returns with a suitcase full of weapons and some dire warnings.

28209634September 19th – Autonomous by Annalee Newitz

I got this one off of a Publisher’s Weekly list of fall science fiction and fantasy releases. I checked it out on Goodreads, and what do you know! It’s got queer characters and a badass lady pirate! Both of those things are right up my alley, so I’m planning on giving this one a look. It looks like the author’s done a lot of science writing, so I expect this will be an intriguing sci-fi novel.

32735037September 26th – An Unkindness of Magicians by Kat Howard

I adored Kat Howard’s debut Roses and Rot, so I’m looking forward to her second novel! What I know about An Unkindness of Magicians: it’s a fantasy. It’s set in New York City. Magic is disappearing, but one person might have the power to stop it. Only she wants to destroy it instead. Also, it’s by Kat Howard so it’s probably going to be incredible.

33099588September 26th – The Black Tides of Heaven by JY Yang

I’ve enjoyed JY Yang’s short stories, so I’m excited for their novella debuts. They’re releasing two novellas (The Black Tides of Heaven and The Red Threads of Fortune) on the same day. The two are set in the same world, about related characters, but they stand alone. From what I’ve heard, they’re queer, feminist fantasy stories with an East Asian setting. All of that sounds like my sort of book. Plus, I already know JY Yang can write well.

34076952September 26th – The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic by Leigh Bardugo

I was one of many people who loved Six of Crows. Her earlier Grisha trilogy might not have been my thing, but her fantasy heist duology set in the same world gave me everything I longed for and more. Obviously, I’m going to check out this short fiction collection of hers. Bonus, I heard it’s illustrated. I love illustrated books, and this one promises to be beautifully enchanting.

30969741September 26th – An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson

I’ve been hearing good things about An Enchantment of Ravens, a debut YA fantasy novel. And the heroine’s an artist! She paints a portrait of a fae but gets into a lot more than she bargained for. In truth, I haven’t always gotten along with arty books — maybe I come in with certain expectations? But, oh I’m hopeful! And who could resist that gorgeous cover by Charlie Bowater?

What books are you looking forward to? Do any on this list strike your fancy?

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Tammy says:

    Yes to every one of these! Great list. I’ve got several of these for review as well, including Ruin of Angels, An Unkindness of Magicians and The Stone Sky. September in particular seems to have so many releases that I want to read. I hope I can get to them all:-)

    1. Wow! Those are promising to be some good ones. I agree — September (and October) are chock full of releases this year.

  2. Pyo says:

    Mask of Shadows is on my list, and probably a few others, too. I’ll decide that once they are out ^^;

    Otherwise September has Moribund, which kinda seems like some steam-punkish fae thing where one (dark fae) heroine is oath-bound to obey some evil guy and murder a bunch of (light fae) princesses. She’s killed all but the last, which is where the story starts at. Could be fairly interesting or a completely disaster, I quite look forward to finding out 😉

    Also, The Calderan Problem, which is book 4 in the little known(?) Free Wrench series. Essentially it’s about a heroine who likes engineering/tinkering and travels around with an airship, doing … stuff. I quite like the setting, it’s fairly unique. I don’t expect it to be mind blowing, but so far the novels all have been fun.

    Already out this August is of course Gates of Tagmeth. I have read the eARC of course, but now I’ll read it on paper again 😉

    1. I haven’t heard of those. I find that steampunk can be either really quite good or really quite bad. Keep me updated on which Moribund turns out to be!

      1. Pyo says:

        Steampunk isn’t really accurate for it anyway, I just couldn’t think of something better. It’s like – usually the fae are all magic and nature and things, right (classic reason: they can’t stand iron)? But somehow here their magic works through these circuits and stuff, so its kind of technological this time.

        But the main plot seems to take place on the human world with contemporary technology.

        So I’m not entirely sure what to call it, but it’s something different, which I always appreciate.

        Unfortunately it’s a debut author and YA-ish with a highschool romance and I have no idea whether that’ll end up in a catastrophe or not 😉 Maybe a bit of a cynical attitude, but I suppose it’s similar to your comment on YA-dystopias ^^

      2. Yeah, I’m not a fan of YA high school romances. Good luck though!

  3. Autonomous sounds like it might float me boat. Thanks fer putting it on me radar. Arrrrr!
    x The Captain

  4. An Unkindness of Magicians and The Stone Sky are the two that are high on my August and September list!

    1. I’m super excited for both of those!

Leave a Reply

