Monthly Recap July 2017

Hello everyone! These monthly recaps are a chance for me to go over what books I’ve reviewed this month, what my non-review posts were (here and elsewhere), and what I’ll be reading and reviewing next month. This month, I didn’t have any DNF’s, so I’m going to get straight into what I’m reading and reviewing in August.

For August, I have the following scheduled:

  • A review of The Tiger’s Watch by Julia Ember
  • A review of Caliban’s War by James S.A. Corey
  • A list post of August and September SFF new releases
  • A post discussing books I’m considering bringing to college with me
  • A short fiction round up

I’m also currently working on reviews for the following books:

  • After the Crown by K. B. Wagers
  • The Paper Menagerie by Ken Liu
  • Even the Darkest Star by Heather Fawcett

16131032

I’m not entirely sure what I’ll be reading in August — or how much time I’ll have for reading! About half way through the month, I head back to Georgia to resume classes, and this semester, I have a new job as a writing tutor. I’m definitely going to keep up with the Expanse read along and with reviewing new Bookburners episodes, and I’m likely going to keep doing short story round ups. Book-wise, I’ll probably be working ahead with some ARCs, but there’s still some days in August I’ll need to come up with reviews for. Honestly, I have no idea what books I’ll fill those days with. Maybe I’ll finally get around to reading The Girl with the Ghost Eyes.


Reviews from July

4 stars

The New Voices of Fantasy edited by Peter S. Beagle and Jacob Weisman

The Faerie Godmother’s Apprentice Wore Green by Nicky Kyle

Down Among the Sticks and Bones by Seanan McGuire

Bookburners: Season Two created by Max Gladstone

The Reluctant Queen by Sarah Beth Durst

3 1/2 stars

Sovereign by April Daniels

The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova

Leviathan Wakes by James S.A. Corey

The Little Homo Sapiens Scientist by S.L. Huang

Thick as Thieves by Megan Whalen Turner

The Collapsing Empire by John Scalzi

Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab

3 stars

Runtime by S.B. Divya

Persona by Genevieve Valentine

The Best of Subterranean edited by William Schafer

Gift of the Winter King and Other Stories by Naomi Kritzer


As always, I’ve also got some other posts as well.

Here on the Illustrated Page:

Over on Queership:

 


And that’s about it for July! What have you been reading lately?

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Tammy says:

    I always get excited when someone mentions The Girl with Ghost Eyes. I love that book so much!

    1. I kept meaning to read it this summer! But I think it would actually be better to save it for when I’m going to college and relying more on ebooks.

  2. Pyo says:

    The “eight loosely fantasy books with aromantic leads” link got somehow mixed up with something else 😉

    Haven’t really read anything too amazing lately. Paulette Callen’s Command of Silence is probably the one exception; it’s a mystery with a lead that has multiple personalities. But the lead is one specific personality of them, not “all” of them. It’s (most likely) not the most accurate depiction of a fractured personality but it makes for a fantastic heroine. Unfortunately the end was kind of disappointing. Which is I suppose the theme of this summer: OK, but not great.

    1. Thanks Pyo!

      Hmm, I haven’t heard of Command of Silence. It sounds really interesting — I’ll have to check it out, even if the ending isn’t up to scratch.

  3. Always a good month when they’re no DNFs! And I’m also glad the Read Along group is running again and you guys are going strong with the Expanse series. I’ve been following your posts and I’m so excited for when you guys get farther into the story. Next series read along, I hope to be able to join in again! Oh, and I’m going to be starting The Reluctant Queen soon!

    1. Yay! I’m excited to see what you think of The Reluctant Queen. I liked the new POV character.

  4. Lucy C says:

    Thanks for the list of fantasy books with aromantic leads, I’ve got several more books to add to my TBR!

Leave a Reply

