July 2017 SFF Short Fiction Reading Part I

Welcome to my first round up of short fiction for the month of July!

“Nkásht íí” by Darcie Little Badger

Two girls on their own decide to investigate a town where the dead are restless.

“The Water That Falls on You from Nowhere” by John Chu

In this story, water has started falling from the sky whenever someone lies. A slanting of the truth might bring only a light mist, but a real whopper will bring a torrent. Matt can no longer lie, and he doesn’t want to. It’s time to come out to his traditional Chinese family. I really enjoyed this one, and I think I’ll be including in the next short story column for Queership.

“Sic Him, Hellhound! Kill! Kill!” by Hal Duncan

This story felt really strange, mostly due to the gritty and experimental writing style. I did like the execution of the werewolves and vampires though.

“Communion” by Mary Anne Mohanraj

I found out after I finished this one that it’s essentially an epilogue to a novella, which in hindsight makes a lot of sense. I wish I hadn’t read this without having read the novella first — I spent a lot of time feeling like there were things I was missing.

“How to Become a Robot in 12 Easy Steps” by A. Merc Rustad

This story’s both heartbreaking and hilarious. A young asexual woman struggles with depression and wanting to become a robot.

“Tanith’s Sky” by Penny Stirling

“Tanith’s Sky” is a deeply moving story about grief and healing. Ash’s queerplatonic partner (Tanith) died saving the world, but she’s not totally gone. Her memories linger.

“Night at the Opera” by Martha Wells

This short story by Martha Wells is set somewhat before her novel The Death of the Necromancer. However, I think it can be read on it’s own. Reynard Morane hates blackmail, so he obviously accepts a case to help a young girl who’s being preyed upon by a sorcerer.

Have you read any good short fiction lately?

Leave a Reply

