Review of The Faerie Godmother’s Apprentice Wore Green by Nicky Kyle

28422026The Faerie Godmother’s Apprentice Wore Green by Nicky Kyle. ★★★★

What a delightful story!

The village of Styesville believes that they’re in need of a knight to solve their dragon problem. But the solution to their problem arrives largely unnoticed: Dea, a faerie godmother’s apprentice drawn by the rumors of dragons. She soon realizes that there’s something more complex at the heart of Styesville’s crisis…

At only about 18,000 words, The Faerie Godmother’s Apprentice Wore Green is a very quick read. I was considering it a novelette and then I double checked the length categories. Turns out it just barely squeezes into the novella category! It’s definitely a story that you can read in a single evening.

Obviously, The Faerie Godmother’s Apprentice Wore Green is a quick read, but it’s also a fun one too! While it’s an entirely original story that’s not drawing off of specific fairy tales, it does use the tropes of the genre in a way that creates a sort of fractured fairy tale feel. For instance, a princess who’s parents lock her in a tower until she’s rescued by her true love. Only, in this case the princess was in the tower because her parents refused to believe she was aromantic, asexual, and didn’t want to be married. Luckily, she gets some help from a dragon.

I don’t think The Faerie Godmother’s Apprentice Wore Green is being marketed as young adult, but it would make for a good crossover. It’s certainly the sort of story I could have read and loved when I was younger. A princess who doesn’t fall in love with anyone? Dragons? I would have been thrilled! I was still thrilled to read this as an adult, but I also wish I’d had it when I was a younger girl, a familiar feeling for queer stories.

There’s other things I liked about the story as well. The writing style worked really well for me, clear but a bit different from everyday language. I also liked the bit about how our stories get changed to fit the dominate narrative. The creation of history and how it departs from the realities is a concept I always love to see explored.

I would love more stories set in this world or with these characters. Unfortunately, as far as I can tell the author doesn’t have any other stories published! It looks like she might have a couple of freebies up on her tumblr, so I’ll need to check out those. I’ll be watching for whatever she writes next.

 

Leave a Reply

