Summer 2017 SFF Releases

It’s about time for a new list of upcoming books I’m excited for! This summer promises all sorts of great books. June in particular is packed with amazing new releases.

25752041May 30th – Royal Bastards by Andrew Shvarts

Royal Bastards is a YA fantasy novel by debut author Andrew Shvarts. I was put onto this one by Tammy over at Books, Bones & Buffy. It follows the bastard daughter of a lord who befriends a princess and becomes wrapped up in an adventure. The synopsis looks fun and seems to promise female friendship, which I’m always happy to read about. Unfortunately, my Netgalley request was declined, so I’ll have to wait and get it from the library at a later date.

31450960June 6th – Song of the Current by Shara Tolscer

Song of the Current is another book bullet from Tammy. It’s a YA fantasy novel about a girl from a family of river traders. When her father is arrested for refusing to transport a mysterious cargo, she takes on the task in exchange for his release. It’s already gotten a rave review from Anya, so I’m excited for this one!

32565574June 6th – All Good Things by Emma Newman

I was lucky enough to get an ARC of All Good Things, and it didn’t disappoint! This book is the fifth and final book in the Split Worlds series, an urban fantasy series which begins with Between Two Thorns. There are so many sub plots and questions to this series that I had no idea how Emma Newman was going to wrap everything up in this book. And then she went and did it!

32075662June 13th – Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab

While the first YA fantasy book, This Savage Song, stood on its own, I am so glad that Victoria Schwab has returned to the world and characters with this sequel. I had so much fun with This Savage Song. It was one of those fast paced addictive YA books that you just can’t put down, and I bet Our Dark Duet will be just as thrilling.

31450908June 13th – Down Among the Sticks and Bones by Seanan McGuire

Like many other readers, I adored Every Heart a Doorway. Seanan McGuire is returning to the world with this prequel novella following Jack and Jill and the horror flavored world they visited. You can expect to see a lot of gushing and excitement from me around the release, complete with plenty of tumblr posts. #sorrynotsorry

30691976June 13th – Raven Stratagem by Yoon Ha Lee

Ninefox Gambit was one of my favorite releases of 2016, maybe my plain favorite when it comes to science fiction. Obviously, I was super pumped for Raven Stratagem. And guess what! I got an ARC! And it was somehow even better than the first book! Urgh, I love this series so much, and I am so rooting for Ninefox Gambit to win the Hugo.

30129154June 13th – The Prey of Gods by Nicky Drayden

I’m really excited about this debut science fiction novel set in South Africa. I’ve been meaning to read more SFF set in Africa, and The Prey of Gods looks perfect. Plus, it’s got a robots! Robots are always cool. Oh, and one of my favorite authors, Martha Wells, recommends it. It also looks like it’ll be mixing sci-fi with fantasy, and I love genre blurring books.

27269666June 20th – Shattered Minds by Laura Lam

Shattered Minds is an indirect sequel to the near future, science fiction thriller False Hearts. I have an ARC and I am thrilled to report that it was wonderful. It has an entirely separate plot and characters from the first book, although it takes place in the same world. Also of note is the fact that there’s the male lead and love interest is trans.

32827398June 27th – Spoonbenders by Daryl Gregory

I’ve enjoyed so many of Daryl Gregory’s other works, most notably Afterparty, and Spoonbenders looks similarly delightful. Even if I didn’t already like his writing, I might pick it up for that title alone. It’s about a family of psychics who loose their powers while at the same time having close encounters with the mafia and the CIA. That plot’s bound to be fun.

28960325July 4th – The Harbors of the Sun by Martha Wells

I love the Raksura books so much. Over the course of the last four books, I’ve grown incredibly attached to Moon, Stone, Jade, Chime and all the rest. I can’t wait to visit them again in The Harbors of the Sun, but I’m sad that it’s the end of their series. I was lucky enough to get an ARC, so you should see my review a couple weeks before the release.

32600602July 4th – The Reluctant Queen by Sarah Beth Durst

I had a lot of fun with The Queen of Blood last fall, so I’m looking forward to this sequel, The Reluctant Queen. It looks like it’ll have a new heroine. On one hand, I’ll miss Daleina. On the other, the new heroine could turn out to be even more amazing. Guess I’ll have to wait until the release to find out what The Reluctant Queen has in store for me.

33540347July 11th – Monstress: Volume Two by Majorie Liu and Sana Takeda

Yes, I know this is a collection of comic book issues and not really the same as the other books on this list. But I loved volume one so much that I just had to include it! The art is beautiful, the story compelling, and the world darkly imaginative. I can’t wait to get my hands on volume two.

32565582July 25th – Sovereign by April Daniels

Sovereign‘s a queer YA superhero book and the sequel to Dreadnought. It’s also another ARC I haven’t gotten to yet. I’ll have a review by the release date, I swear! Anyway, I’ll be excited to read about Danny continuing to adjust to her life as a teenage superheroine. Plus, I totally ship her and Calamity. It’ll be great to read more about her and Danny in this newest continuation to the Nemesis series.

30237061July 25th – Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody

Daughter of the Burning City is a YA fantasy release that I don’t know that much about. I think I saw it on a list somewhere?When I went on this one’s Goodreads page, people had it shelved as “LGBT.” And two people had it specifically shelved as “asexual!” I don’t trust Goodreads shelving on principal, but that’s almost guaranteed to at least put the book on my radar.

31817749August 15th – The Stone Sky by N.K. Jemisin

Obviously, I’m going to read The Stone SkyThe Fifth Season was one of the best fantasy books I’ve ever read, so I have to read the end of the trilogy. Can it live up to all my expectations? Maybe not. But I have no doubt that The Stone Sky will be a darn good fantasy book, given the track record Jemisin has established with the rest of the series. If you haven’t read The Fifth Season, drop whatever you’re doing right now and go find a copy.

Somehow I’ve only got one book I’m looking forward to in August (maybe some titles skipped my notice?), but the rest of the summer is full of all sorts of exciting books. What’s on your radar for this summer? Are you looking forward to any of these books?

15 thoughts on “Summer 2017 SFF Releases

  1. Wow, there are so many great SFF releases this summer! No wonder my TBR list is always growing.

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and am very impressed by your blog. I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    1. Yep, I doubt I’ll get around to reading all these this summer.

      Hmm, blogging tips.
      1) Get involved in community events to meet other bloggers. There’s various popular weekly events like Top Ten Tuesday (forget who this is run by) and Waiting on Wednesday. I don’t really do those, but I do participate in read alongs with the Good Reads SF/F Read Along Group – https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/160153-sf-f-read-alongs I haven’t done a read along since last summer, but some of the bloggers I met through there still comment on my posts and I comment on their’s. Plans are for a read along of The Expanse series, starting in June, if you’re interested.

      2) Have a page where you list out all the books you’ve reviewed. When I go to a new book blog, usually the first thing I do is go to the review index to see how much we’ve got in common with the books we read. I don’t know if everyone uses review indexes the same way, so disclaimer I guess?

      3) Get a Netgalley account. When I first started blogging, I really wanted to get ARCs but thought I didn’t have enough page views. It’s true that I may not have had enough for ARCs from big presses, but with a Netgalley account it’s perfectly possible to get ARCs from indie authors and small presses. You’ll probably end up reading a bunch of not so great books at first, but once you build up your feedback rating you’re more likely to get approved for books you really want.

      4) If you really want to help authors, cross post your reviews to Amazon. How much Amazon promotes a book depends on how many reviews it gets. Speculation is that 50 is the magic number. Most indie authors, debut authors, and small press authors don’t have anywhere near 50 reviews on Amazon.

      5) Most authors tend to be friendly if you reach out to them about doing an interview or any sort of promo for their book. Especially true for indie and small press authors.

      That’s about all I can think of at the moment. I hope some of it was helpful!

      1. These tips were super helpful! I’m planning on creating a review index soon, and I’ll look into Netgalley. I’ve never done a read along before, but that sounds like fun so I’ll look into that as well. Thanks so much!

  2. Wow, I don’t even know where to start, there is just so much WOW in this post! Just about every one of these is on my list to read too, although a few are under the “wish I had more time” category. I’ve already read Down Among the Sticks and Bones and LOVED it. And Spoonbenders and Shattered Minds are at the top of my list too, since I have review copies. I didn’t know you were a fan of Afterparty! It’s seriously one of my all time favorite books:-)

    1. I got a few of these from an “upcoming YA” list you did, so that would explain some of the overlap. It’s good to hear that you loved Down Among the Sticks and Bones! And yes, I’m a huge Afterparty fan. I also really loved We Are All Completely Fine.

  3. August 1st: Gates of Tagmeth 😉
    And I suppose you already reviewed that, but for everyone else Mask of Shadows will also be out in August.

    Anyway, for SFF I mostly look forward to Ravem Stratagem. I think the next Loralynn Kennakris is also not too far away, but I don’t think there’s a fixed date yet. The Reluctant Queen is the one I’m reluctant about (harr, harr, harr) – I hate series that change protagonists, and especially if it’s done so radically as here. But curiosity will probably win out, as the setting is great.

  4. I’m really excited for Catherynne Valente’s Refrigerator Monologues in June, and in August the novel Sarah Rees Brennan put online for free, Turn of the Story, is being published as In Other Lands. I loved the online version and can’t wait to have a copy for my bookshelf!

    And of course I’m dying to get my hands on the last Raksura and Broken Earth books, and Down Among the Sticks and Bones 🙂

    1. I just got approved for an ARC of Refrigerator Monologues, so you’ll be seeing a review of that one for certain! I don’t think I’ve read anything by Sarah Rees Brennan, although the name is sure familiar. What book of hers would you suggest starting with?

      1. Oh, fab! Congrats, and I can’t wait to see what you think of Monologues!

        Honestly, everything Brennan writes is amazing, it’s hard to choose just one. Turn of the Story is about a snarky boy unimpressed with being whisked off to ‘magic school’ that tears apart virtually every fantasy trope I can think of, with queerness and feminism and a deconstruction of the glorifying of war that a lot of traditional fantasy does. The Lynburn Legacy trilogy is about a half-Japanese teen reporter who discovers her imaginary friend is real, and they’re telepathically bonded – which is for once realistically awkward and humiliating, not portrayed as super romantic. Also, magic, because of course. Again, lots of deconstructed YA fantasy tropes. Brennan’s very good at that 🙂 So I’d have to suggest those two, I guess, whichever one sounds more fun to you!

  5. Wow, so much good stuff on here. I’ll throw my recommendation behind Royal Bastards. It is trope-filled, pure entertainment fluff but it was so earnest in its straightforwardness and simplicity that I just couldn’t help but be charmed by it, if that makes sense! The other books that are high priority for me are probably the ones by Wells, Lam, Gregory, Durst and Jemisin. Would love to fit in Sovereign if I have time (but as you can see, that’s a big if!)

    1. I’m glad to hear that about Royal Bastards! It’s probably something I’ll get from the library rather than buy a copy tho. I’ve got a Netgalley copy of Sovereign, so it’s something I’ve got to get to this summer.

Leave a Reply

