Late Spring 2017 SFF Releases

When I was making my “Spring 2017” releases list, I had to stop at April. There are just so many exciting books coming out this May! This list covers only April and May – I’ll be releasing a new one sometime in May to cover summer releases.

31408829April 4th – The End of Day by Claire North

I’ve been following Claire North/Kate Griffin/Catherine Webb for a while now. While I think some of the themes of her most recent books have been repetitive, I am planning on reading her newest release, The End of Day. The back blurb is pretty scanty, but it looks like the story’s about a man named Charlie who works for the four horsemen of the apocalypse. He’s sent out before them as either a warning or a courtesy, and apparently the end of everything is soon to arrive.

26219455April 18th – The Edge of the Abyss by Emily Skrutskie

I read an ARC of The Abyss Surrounds Us back in 2014 and loved it so much. It’s an action packed tale complete with sea monsters, pirates and a f/f romance! Obviously, I was incredibly excited for the release of the sequel and final book in the duology, The Edge of the Abyss. I was able to snag an advanced copy and am happy to report that The Edge of the Abyss is as much fun as I had hoped. This duology is a real gem and I can’t recommend it enough. You can expect to see my review in early April, about two weeks before the release.

31372241April 25th – Buffalo Soldier by Marius Broaddus

I’ve had a hit or miss experience with steampunk, but I still want to give Buffalo Soldier a go. I really liked a steampunk short story by Marius Broaddus, and while I think this is a different world, I still feel optimistic. In Buffalo Soldier, a Jamaican former espionage agent becomes a caretaker for a mysterious boy who’s being chased by a number of fractions intent on discovering what secrets he knows. I think the blurb sounds fun, plus it got a positive review from Max Gladstone! I really need to read this one.

30646382May 2nd – A Tyranny of Queens by Foz Meadows

I enjoyed the heck out of An Accident of Stars, and I’m ready for book two! Queer feminist fantasy novels are my jam. Why can’t there be more fantasy books that put such thought into gender roles? Anyway, the ending of An Accident of Stars hinted at what the series long plot could be, and I’m super excited. Also, what’s up with Saffron, who’s been returned to our world? What’s the situation like in Kena? I need this book!

32758901May 2nd – All Systems Red by Martha Wells

I’m a huge fan of Martha Wells’s fantasy work, and I’m eager to try this science fiction novella from her. I’ve been avoiding reading the available excerpt since I  knew that it would just make the wait harder – and fellow bibliophiles have confirmed that this is true! It’s being described as Westworld meets the Culture novels. While I haven’t gotten into the Culture, I still think the description sounds intriguing. I’m so ready to read about murderous robots. Also, the Tor novella line up has generally been pretty amazing, and I expect this one to be amazing too.

31554413May 2nd – The Boy on the Bridge by M.R. Carey

Literally all I know about this book is that it’s a prequel to The Girl with All the Gifts. But The Girl with All the Gifts was awesome, so I’m definitely down for this one. Presumably there’ll be a boy? Who’s on a bridge? Who knows! Going off of The Girl with All the Gifts, there will probably be zombies and I shouldn’t read it right before going to bed. Speaking of these books, I recently saw The Girl with All the Gifts movie! It was a faithful adaptation with a charismatic young actress.

32890474May 4th – The Seafarer’s Kiss by Julia Ember

Queer ladies + beautiful cover = automatic interest for me. And hey, the advance reviews look generally positive! This one is a retelling of “The Little Mermaid” in a Scandinavian setting with a romance between two girls. In this YA fantasy novel, a young mermaid is bargains with Loki, determined to outsmart him, to save the life of the human shield maiden she’s fallen in love with. Can I also just point out that the cover is really really pretty? I know not to judge a book by its cover, but gosh this one is a stunner.

28784121May 4th – City of Miracles by Robert Jackson Bennett

I’ve had an ARC of this one since January but I’ve been holding off on reading it until closer to the release date. Urgh, you’ve got know idea how difficult it’s been. I love this series! First world problems, am I right? Seriously, I have every confidence that this book will be amazing. The prior books in this series, City of Stairs and City of Blades, were both wonderful, full of great characterization and world building. Plus, a fellow book blogger I follow has already given it a positive review, and we tend to like the same sort of things.

8306741May 16th – Thick as Thieves by Megan Whalen Turner

I’m lucky enough that I didn’t start reading this series until a few years ago. Long time fans have been waiting for this book for seven years! Thick as Thieves is the fifth novel in Megan Whalen Turner’s splendid YA fantasy series, The Queen’s Thief. The series starts with The Thief, but the books start getting really good in the second, Queen of Attolia. You can expect a world based on ancient Greece with brilliant characterization. My one complaint about this series is that it’s based on ancient Greece but everyone’s straight. Maybe now that it’s 2017 that can change? Fingers crossed.

31445891May 23rd – River of Teeth by Sarah Gailey

This alternate history novels sounds simply fabulous! So apparently in the early 1900s, the United States was facing a meat shortage as well as a Mississippi river being overgrown with plant life. Someone in Congress then had a bright idea (this is one of the most terrifying phrases in the English language) to import hippos from Africa to be used for meat. Everyone thought this was absolutely brilliant until they were reminded that hippos were one of the most dangerous animals in Africa. So the vote to import hippos failed by one vote. But what if it hadn’t? This sounds hilarious and you should read Sarah Gailey’s twitter thread about it.

Are there any books on this list you want to read? Any you think I should know about? Tell me in the comments!
14 Comments Add yours

  1. Tammy says:

    This is a fantastic list! I’m planning reading most of these myself. Although I haven’t started the Foz Meadows series, but I certainly want to at some point. The Boy on the Bridge is the one I’m most anticipating!

    1. I just got approved for an ARC of the next Foz Meadows book! I’m also excited for the Boy on the Bridge, but I think the one I’m most excited for is All Systems Red.

  2. I just started drafting a similar mid-2017 TBR to post next month – a lot of books on your list are on mine too!

    1. I can’t wait to see your list!

  3. Pyo says:

    A Tyranny of Queens and The Edge of the Abyss for me. Abyss was a true surprise for me. Accident of Stars I found more average, but I think it has potential for the sequel to be more to my tastes. We’ll see.

    1. I’m reading A Tyranny of Queens right now! So far I like it better than the first book.

  4. Sia says:

    I can’t WAIT for Edge of the Abyss! There’s also Laini Taylor’s new book, Strange the Dreamer, just next week I think, and the new James Asher book is finally available in April. Also in April The Dragon’s Legacy by Deborah A. Wolf, which looks like it’s going to have really fab world-building, and Sofia Samatar’s collection of short stories, Tender.

    May has the collected first season of Ellen Kushner’s serial fiction Tremontaine being published too.

    It’s going to be SUCH a good summer for books!

    1. I’ve heard about Strange the Dreamer, but nothing specific yet. I really need to go read some reviews! I also hadn’t heard of The Dragon’s Legacy – that’s another one I need to check out. I thought the collected first season of Tremontaine was already out though? I read an ARC of it last summer.

      1. Sia says:

        They did an e-book omnibus of Tremontaine – which they split into two volumes on Amazon, for some reason – last year, but the hardcover is out this May, with a new e-book version. I guess maybe the intent is/was to attract readers who haven’t heard of serial fiction, and also those readers who don’t read e-books? I really don’t know.

      2. Huh, that’s interesting. Anyway, I hope you get the chance to read it!

      3. Sia says:

        I actually read along with season one and two on SerialBox! I adore anything Riverside. But I’m off to pre-order Seafarer’s Kiss – thanks for the rec!

      4. No problem! I love giving people recs. 🙂

  5. Yay, these look great! I have most of them on my radar already but am adding a few to my list — I hadn’t heard about the queer Little Mermaid story! What a great idea! I WILL READ IT TWICE.

    1. I seriously want to get a hold of that one!

Leave a Reply

