March 2017 SFF Short Fiction Reading Part I

I didn’t spend much time with short fiction in January and February, but I’ve now returned to investigating the wonderful stories available online.

“In Libres” by Elizabeth Bear

Libraries are dangerous places. Unfortunately, Euclavia’s thesis adviser says she needs just one more source… But she has her friend Bucephalus, a centaur, to go with her and a magical ball of twine. What could go wrong?

“The War of Heroes” by Kameron Hurley

I’ll admit, I had a hard time understanding this one. Kameron Hurley has big ideas and they don’t always lend themselves to easy reading. At one point I thought there was time travel involved but by the end I wasn’t sure.

“The Dryad’s Shoe” by T. Kingfisher

I heard the elevator pitch of “asexual Cinderella” and decided I had to read it! I found this retelling lovely and surprisingly funny. I actually laughed out loud at several points – the enchanted bird who acts has Hannah’s fairy godmother is hilarious.

“A Year and a Day in Old Theradane” by Scott Lynch

This story is what I’ve been wanting for years. A well written, female led fantasy heist with imaginative world building and queer characters! It’s been a bit since I last reread the Locke Lamora books, but I think that this takes place in the world’s past before the Bondsmagi came to power. If I’m right, the protagonist is the queen of thieves who Sabetha played in Republic of Thieves. If you like the Gentleman Bastards series but wish it had more ladies, this is the story for you. I also would love to read more stories about this crew.

“Monster Girls Don’t Cry” by A. Merc Rustad

This story stars a monster girl who files down her horns and cuts off her wings in the name of being normal. But can she accept her monstrous self?

Probably my favorite of these was “A Year and a Day in Old Theradane,” with “The Dryad’s Shoe” being a runner up.

2 thoughts on “March 2017 SFF Short Fiction Reading Part I

Leave a Reply

