2016 Reading Overview and Statistics

I read 195 books this year, 26 more than last year. I suspect the increase may in part be due to the greater numbers of novellas I’m reading. I’m not going to list all the individual titles here, but I will look at some statistics and how well I did on the goals I set at the beginning of the year.

Genre and Format Statistics

Total: 195

Month with Most Books Read: January (22)

Month with Least Books Read: November (8)

Rereads: 13 (6.67%)

Advanced Reviewer’s Copies: 39 (20%)

Ebooks: 35 (17.95%)

Library: 50 (25.64%)

Print: 69 (35.38%)

Fantasy: 134 (68.72%)

Nonfiction: 7 (3.59%)

Science Fiction: 94 (48.21%)

Young Adult: 53 (27.18%)

Author Statistics

This year I read a lot more books by multiple authors, be it short story collections or otherwise. It would be far too much of a pain to count up all of the authors of such books, so I’m counting things more by book than by author.

Books by “New to Me” Authors: 86 (44.10%)

Books by Female Authors: 146 (74.87%)

Books by Male Authors: 42 (21.54%)

Books by Nonbinary Authors: 3 (1.54%)

Books by POC Authors: 45 (23.08%)

Books by “New to Me” POC Authors: 23 (11.79%)

Protagonist Statistics

Books with Female Protagonists: 89 (45.64%)

Books with Male Protagonists: 50 (25.64%)

Books with Protagonists of Multiple Genders: 44 (22.56%)

Books with Nonbinary Protagonists: 3 (1.54%)

Books with POC Protagonists: 82 (42.05%)

Books with Queer Protagonists: 53 (27.18%)

Most Read Authors (number of books read in parenthesis) 

Martha Wells (10)

Diane Duane (7)

Emma Newman (5)

Michelle West/Michelle Sagara (4)

Claire North (4)

Books I Gave Five Stars

The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage by Sydney Padua

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

The Secret History of the Mongol Queens: How the Daughters of Genghis Khan Rescued His Empire by Jack Weatherford

Warchild by Karin Lowachee

The Encyclopedia of Early Earth by Isabel Greenberg

Wizards at War by Diane Duane

Most Viewed Reviews (* marks those published in 2016)

  1. Luck in the Shadows by Lynn Flewelling
  2. Clariel by Garth Nix
  3. Fire Logic by Laurie J. Marks*
  4.  The Thousand Names by Django Wexler
  5.  A Fistful of Sky by Nina Kiriki Hoffman
  6. An Accident of Stars by Foz Meadows*
  7. The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie
  8. The Fire’s Stone by Tanya Huff
  9. Stranger by Rachel Manija Brown and Sherwood Smith*
  10.  Quicksilver by R.J. Anderson

It’s pretty clear from this list that the books with queer protagonists are the most popular. Looking at only those reviews published in 2016, I get this list:

  1. Fire Logic by Laurie J. Marks
  2.  An Accident of Stars by Foz Meadows
  3. Stranger by Rachel Manija Brown and Sherwood Smith
  4. Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire
  5. Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova
  6. The House of Shattered Wings by Aliette de Bodard
  7. The Sorcerer of the Wildeeps by Kai Ashante Wilson
  8. The Guns of Empire by Django Wexler
  9. Santa Olivia by Jacqueline Carey
  10. Ninefox Gambit by Yoon Ha Lee

2016 Goals Overview

Most of my reading goals for 2016 related to reading diverse books. I was aiming to read at least 21 books with an LGBTQIA main character. I significantly passed this goal, reading 53 qualifying books.

I also wanted female authors to make up at least 50% of the books I read. I also significantly passed this mark.

I’ve been continuing to read ARCs as well. I planned on reading at least 10 this year and ended up reading 39.

However, I wanted at least 30% of the books I read in 2016 to be by POC authors. I did not make this goal, instead falling short at 23%. I had a plan for reaching this goal – read at least two books by POC each month, but I didn’t always end up following this strategy. And even if I had, I still wouldn’t have reached 30%.

I’ve been thinking about what I can do to improve in this area. I need to work harder on acquiring books by authors of color. To read at least 30% POC authors, I need to have at least 30% of the books in my TBR pile, ARC requests, and library pickups be by POC. The local library lacks a lot of the POC authored books I’m interested in reading. However, I’ve found out that my college has free inter-library loan for fiction, so I should make use of that.

I also need to work harder on finding POC authored books to add to my TBR list. While I don’t know the racial make up of the authors on the shelf, I would suspect that more than 70% of them are white. So if you have any suggestions for great SFF by POC authors that I haven’t already reviewed here, please comment!

Goals for 2017

I don’t think there’s any reading challenges I’m going to join this year (although this could change later). However, I do have some personal reading goals.

I want to reach 100 for “Feedback Sent” on my Netgalley account.

I want to continue reading books by women and nonbinary authors, although I don’t have any specific goals.

I want to read at least 50 books with queer protagonists.

I want to read at least 50 books by POC authors.

I’m hoping that changing my goals to set numbers of books rather than percentages will make them more achievable. It should be easier to keep track of my progress on each one.

While I’m not optimistic about the larger political and social climate of 2017, I am hopeful that I can make it a good year for reading. Happy (belated) New Years everyone!

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Tammy says:

    Good luck with your goals! I’ve actually never broken down my reading like this, but I think it would be fun. I found a cool spreadsheet on another blog that would work, but I’ll have to do some searching since I don’t remember the blogger lol.

    1. I just keep everything in an Excel file. Whenever I finish a book, I add a row. It’s worked pretty well for me.

  2. Wow, I like how you’ve kept such good records. All my organization is limited to my Goodreads shelf, I should make more tags.

    1. Well, my Goodreads shelf and my Excel spreadsheet are reporting different numbers of books, so my records may not be that good.

Leave a Reply

