Ten Book to Screen Adaptations I’d Love to See

While I tend to like book versions better than movie versions, there’s some books that I’d love to see adapted to the screen. I doubt most of these would ever happen, but here’s ten adaptations I’d love to see.

Mistborn by MarcSimonetti
Art by MarcSimonetti on DeviantART

A Movie Adaptation of Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn

I would love to see the Mistborn trilogy on the big screen. Can you imagine how cool the action sequences would be? I feel like out of all Brandon Sanderson’s work, it and Steelheart would be the best picks for first adaptions. A flaw of the original Mistborn trilogy is that it’s somewhat lacking in female characters, and Brandon Sanderson himself has said that if he rewrote the books he’d genderflip some of the cast. I hope a movie adaptation would do the same. Check out this post on Tor.com for dream casting. 

Image result for ellen kushner riverside series

A TV Adaptation of Ellen Kushner’s Riverside

The Riverside series sprawls over a large span of time, with the current prequel stories taking place some sixty years before The Fall of Kings. I think I’d want a Riverside TV show to be an original story line but to have some of the characters from the books make an appearance. The way the series is set up, it seems like the natural way to create a TV series. Plus, it’s a fantasy series with no magic, so it’d work well for a TV show’s budget. But can you imagine how gorgeous some of the costumes would be?

Image result for ninefox gambit

A Movie Adaptation of Yoon Ha Lee’s NineFox Gambit

Ninefox Gambit was a very dense book that was sometimes hard to wrap my head around. But all those complex science fiction action sequences would look absolutely brilliant on screen. The main trick would be the casting of the two central characters, Kel and Jedao.

Art by nikogeyer on DeviantART

A Movie Adaption of Diane Duane’s Young Wizard series

I’m a huge fan of Diane Duane’s Young Wizard series, and I’d love to see them gain a wider audience. The one thing I haven’t decided is whether or not I would want the movie/s to be animated. On one hand, they’d work really well as a live action adaption the vein of the Harry Potter movies. On the other hand, I think an animated version would also work well, and there would be less trouble with the actors ages and making all the aliens. Can you imagine an animated version of the Crossing? That would be so cool.

The Lies of Locke Lamora by AKRU
Art by AKRU on DeviantART

A TV Adaption of Scott Lynch’s The Lies of Locke Lamora

I don’t think the entirety of The Lies of Locke Lamora could be fit comfortably within the time frame of a movie. A TV adaption would work so much better! And with Game of Thrones so popular, there’s obviously an interest in a fantasy series with some dark elements. I do wish that the first book had more female characters. I remember someone in the read along group suggested gender swapping Bug? I think out of all the characters in The Lies of Locke Lamora, gender swapping him would have the least plot effect.

My art!

A Movie Adaptation of Terry Pratchett’s Monstrous Regiment

The most important thing about a Monstrous Regiment would be the cast. I would really want to see actresses who’s body type and physical appearance go beyond the narrow criteria Hollywood actresses normally fit in. I don’t normally do dream casting, but I think Ruby Rose would make a fantastic Mal. I’d also really want a transgender actor for Jackrum.

Image result for full fathom five max gladstone

A Movie Adaptation of Max Gladstone’s Full Fathom Five

An adaptation of Full Fathom Five would have to have excellent cinematography. The imagery of the book is just so powerful that any screen adaptation would have to be real art. I do worry that a movie adaptation might be too out there for a general audience… for some reason I’m thinking “critically acclaimed indy movie,” although then you wouldn’t get the special effects budget this adaptation would deserve. I would also want an actual transgender actress cast to play the transgender lead, Kai. And I’m cynical enough to worry that any adaption would get white washed too. Still, a faithful adaption done right would be glorious.

Image result for raksura art

A TV Adaption of Martha Well’s Raksura books

Over the past year I have utterly fallen in love with Martha Well’s Raksura books. They are so utterly imaginative, taking place in a world without any humans. I feel like this series would look beautiful as a traditional, 2D animation. Animation would allow Martha Well’s unique world to be truly as strange and wondrous as it is on the page.

2113260

A Movie Adaption of Jasper Fforde’s Shades of Grey

With a novel as focused on color and vision as Shades of Grey, it’s something that obviously comes to mind when I think of books I’d like adapted. The book takes place in a far future where everyone can only see one color and your place in society is determined by the color you can see. Eddie, the protagonist, is a Red, the lowest position in societies after Greys. The film would obviously need to reflect the world as Eddie sees it, sort of like the beginning of The Giver. It also might need a title swap to avoid unfortunate mix ups…

My art!

A TV Adaption of Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle

If you’ve been following this blog for a while, you’re probably aware that I absolutely love this book series. And I think it would be fantastic on TV. The dream would probably be a Netflix original series, but I could see it be on regular television as well. Like so many other adaptions, the most important part would be the cast. They’d have to be believable high school students but would also have to be amazing actors and actresses, capable of bringing these complex characters and the relationships between them to life.

One Comment Add yours

  1. nitapan14 says:

    While I haven’t read any of the other books on this list, I’d LOVE to see The Young Wizards series made into a TV show. And while a live-action version (like Harry Potter) would be mind blowing, I feel like it would do better as an animated series. (Preferably like Japanese anime, not American cartoons.) I tried to draw the Crossings once. It didn’t end well.

Leave a Reply

