Monthly Recap December 2016

Welcome to my recap of December 2016! I’ll be going over the books I didn’t finish, linking to everything I reviewed this month, and discussing what I’ll be reading in January.

23495112I got maybe 70 something pages into The Impostor Queen by Sarah Fine?  It’s not that it was horrible, it’s just that it felt so much like other YA fantasy books I’d read. I’d picked it up because I’d heard the protagonist was bisexual. While that does seem to be true, it looked like her female love interest would be her twenty year old maid… and our protagonist is sixteen. The age gaps and power dynamics meant I was noping out of that one.

13455099I also read little under half of Mechanica, a steampunk inspired retelling of Cinderella. This one wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t that enthralling. I’ve seen Cinderella done so many times that a retelling has to either be really special or to have a different enough plot line to get me interested.

 

 

30095464 I read the first half of The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco. The story synopsis sounded promising (necromancy!), and the writing was really pretty. However the pretty writing was all I was getting. The Bone Witch felt more style than substance. A lot of time is spent describing clothes and such, but at 50% in the conflict still hadn’t arrived. And the characters and world weren’t enthralling enough for me to stay with something so slow moving.

 


By the time you’re reading this, I’m visiting with family and attempting to stay off the internet for ten days straight. So don’t expect any quick replies to comments! However, I’ve left scheduled posts for the beginning of January, so this blog should still be active while I’m gone.

I’ve got reviews of The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden, The Dark Beyond the StarsHowl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones, and Grudgebearer by J.F. Lewis scheduled. I also have a post on book to screen adaptations I would like to see, and at some point there will be reviews of Martha Wells’s The Ships of Air and Thoraiya Dyer’s Crossroads of Canopy.

Sometime in January you will also be getting an analysis of my reading in 2016. This will probably be rather late, likely in the second half of the month. That post will contain statistics on the books I read, a look at my 2016 reading goals, and my reading goals for 2017.


Reviews from December:

4 stars

Rejected Princesses: Tales of History’s Boldest Heroines, Hellions & Heretics by Jason Porath

Witches of Lychford by Paul Cornell

Memories of Ash by Intisar Khanani

Nice Dragons Finish Last by Rachel Aaron

Stories of the Raksura: Volume One by Martha Wells

3 1/2 stars

Conspiracy of Ravens by Lila Bowen

Behind the Throne by K.B. Wagers

The Initiate Brother by Sean Russell

Fortune’s Pawn by Rachel Bach

Judgment at Verdant Court by M.C. Planck

3 stars

Translucid by Zen DiPietro

Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge by Paul Krueger


Here are my non-review posts of the month:

“Favorite 2016 Science Fiction and Fantasy Releases”

“Early 2017 Science Fiction and Fantasy Releases”

“Favorite New to Me SFF Reads of 2016”

“Ten Favorite New to Me Authors of 2016”


That about wraps it up for now. I’ll be back online in a little over a week. I look forward to getting back to obsessing over books with you all then. Have a happy new year!

Leave a Reply

