Early 2017 Science Fiction and Fantasy Releases

There’s all sorts of books coming out in 2017 that I’m excited about! So much so that I’m limiting this list to the spring. I’ll post an updated list in late March or early April for books that couldn’t fit onto this list or which didn’t have a cover revealed yet.

2017-books1

January 10th – The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova

I’m not familiar with this author, and I unfortunately missed out on getting a Netgalley ARC of this one. That said, it has been getting really good reviews and I find the description intriguing. Plus, I heard somewhere that Ari is bisexual, and I’m always on the lookout for LGBTQIA fantasy novels.

January 24th – Dreadnought by April Daniels

Remember how I said I was looking for more LGBTQIA books? This YA novel is about a transgender girl who suddenly gains superpowers. I’ve read some really good queer superhero books, and I hope Dreadnought joins the ranks!

January 31st – Crossroads of Canopy by Thoraiya Dyer

The awesome cover caught my eye on Netgalley, and I ended up getting an ARC. I don’t know much about it besides that it’s a female led fantasy story set in a world with cities built in the canopy of a forest. Fingers crossed that it’s good!

2017-books2

February 7th – The Stars Are Legion by Kameron Hurley

I am so pumped for this new science fiction novel by Kameron Hurley! She’s consistently wowed me, even if The Mirror Empire was too dark for my tastes. The Stars are Legion is a science fiction novel about a civil war on a fleet of all female generation ships.

February 28th – Infernal Parade by Clive Barker

I’m trying to expand the ARCs I read to include more authors I’m not familiar with. Infernal Parade looks like it may skew more horror than I generally like, but it’s only a novella. A shorter work will be a good way to try out this author.

February 28th – Game of Shadows by Erika Lewis

I requested and received an ARC of this one from Netgalley. It’s another book I went for under my “expand my reading” goal. This one is a new portal fantasy from Tor.

2017-books3

March 7th – The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

The Bone Witch has such a beautiful cover! Plus a friend of mine who somehow managed to get a copy through the library (still no idea how they did this) really liked it. I know it’s a fantasy novel inspired by Filipino culture.

March 14th – Brother’s Ruin by Emma Newman

At this point I’d probably read Emma Newman’s shopping list. The woman hasn’t written a book I haven’t enjoyed! So obviously I’m going to get a hold of a copy of this new novella by her.

March 14th – The White Road of the Moon by Rachel Neumeier

I’ve liked what I’ve read before by Rachel Neumeier. And if that wasn’t a strong enough incentive to read her new YA novel, I saw a post where she said that there’s no romance in this female led fantasy novel. Oh, and that the primary relationship is a friendship between two girls. Sign me up!

2017 books4.jpg

March 21st – Phantom Pains by Mishell Baker

Borderline was one of the best debut fantasy novels I read in 2016. That makes me super excited for this next book in the series! I can’t wait to see more of Millie, one of the best SFF antiheroines I’ve ever encountered.

April 4th – Brimstone by Cherie Priest

I’ve been reading Cherie Priest’s books since I was in… middle school maybe? This one is set right after WWI, and I know it includes fantastical elements. Being Cherie Priest, there’s probably an element of horror as well.

April 18th – The Edge of the Abyss by Emily Skrutskie

The Abyss Surrounds Us is probably the best queer YA SFF book I’ve ever read. It’s unusual for me to be onboard with romantic relationships in fiction, but I was totally rooting for Swift/Cas. Also, I’ve seen a post where Emily Skrutskie promised that neither of the queer female leads would die. So while they may or may not get a happy ending, at least I don’t have that particular fate to worry about.

There’s plenty of other books to be excited about in 2017. Scott Lynch’s The Thorns of Emberlain may or may not finally come out. Megan Whalen Turner is finally releasing the fifth novel in her Queen’s Thief series. I think Karin Lowachee’s releasing something new set in her Warchild universe, and Anne Leckie is releasing a novel set in her Ancillary Justice universe. Martha Wells is releasing a science fiction novella that’s been described as Westworld crossed with the Culture novels as well as a new Raksura novel. The final novel in Django Wexler’s Shadow Campaigns series will be released. Zen Cho has a sequel to The Sorcerer and the Crown in the works, and Yoon Ha Lee is releasing the sequel to his Ninefox Gambit. Sarah Beth Durst is writing a YA fantasy heist novel (yay!). Max Gladstone’s got a new Craft Sequence novel coming out, and M.R. Carey is writing a prequel to The Girl with All the Gifts. Brandon Sanderson’s finished the first draft of the third Stormlight Archives book, and that will probably come out in fall 2017. Emma Newman’s releasing the final book in her Split World urban fantasy series, and N.K. Jemisin is finishing The Broken Earth trilogy. Kat Howard is releasing a new fantasy thriller novel about magicians in New York.

In terms of the wider world, I’m not optimistic about 2017 being any better than 2016. But at least we’ll have some excellent SFF novels to fall back on.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Tammy says:

    Great list! I’m excited about almost all of these, especially Phantom Pains. Another great reading year is ahead of us:-)

    1. I have almost no idea what to expect with a Borderline sequel, but I’m really excited for it too. 🙂

  2. lkeke35 says:

    I’m really looking forward to Phantom Pains. I think Millie was one of the most memorable protagonists of the year.
    I like most of these really. i’m a little excited for next year’s reading.

  3. I’m excited about a lot of these! Dreadnought I’ll be reading soon, hopefully. Also Crossroads of Canopy, Game of Shadows, Infernal Parade, The Bone Witch, Brother’s Ruin (yay, Emma Newman!), Phantom Pains and Brimstone. Looks like a busy 2017 🙂

    1. I’ve got ARCs of four of those… that I still need to get to. ARCs are wonderful but can also feel never ending.

  4. I am so jealous of your friend that managed to get a sneaky early copy of The Bone Witch! I’m a die-hard fan of Rin Chupeco so I’m mega-excited for this and can’t waiiiit!

    1. I’m about 30% in right now and I’m really hoping it picks up. The writing is beautiful but it feels like not much has happened.

  5. Mm, lots of good stuff to anticipate. I’m particularly excited for Dreadnought and for the Kat Howard book — I absolutely loved Roses and Rot earlier this year, and I want to see what Howard does next.

    I must have missed your review of The Abyss Surrounds Us (end of November was a cuh-razy time for me so that’s probably why), but it sounds fab, and I will most definitely have to seek out a copy when the library reopens next week.

    1. I think I reviewed The Abyss Surrounds Us back in 2015? So it’s on the list for this year but I didn’t actually read it this year. I hope you get a hold of a copy! It’s worth reading.

Leave a Reply

