Review of Translucid by Zen DiPietro

31120224Translucid by Zen DiPietro. ★★★

This science fiction novel never quite clicked for me.

Translucid‘s protagonist wakes up not remembering anything about herself. She is soon told that her name’s Emé Fallon and that she’s the security chief of Dragonfire Station. She can remember basic information and all the tasks she was trained to do before her accident, but everything pertaining to who she was is gone. She can’t even remember her own wife.

My main problem with Translucid is that it felt really slow. The entire first third is just Emé relearning the station, performing her job as security chief, and trying to get a handle on who she was before the accident. There’s finally a hint at a plot beyond this, but doesn’t get developed on at all until during the second half. And even there, the plot development is lacking. I’m not sure if there was even a climax. If there was, I sure can’t identify it.

For whatever reason, I felt like Translucid lacked depth. I never found anything about it more than surface level – the characterization, the world building, the plot. Surface level can be compensated for with a fast pace and loads of action, but Translucid never delivered on that front. As is, it definitely feels like Translucid‘s missing something.

On the positive side, I think Translucid may be the only book I have ever read where the protagonist is explicitly pansexual. The word is even used, however not by Emé – by her wife when Emé asks her about what she was like before the accident.

I kept waiting for Translucid to come together for me. But even at the end of the book, I felt like not much had happened and that the characterization was one-note. I am not planning on continuing with this series.

 

 

Leave a Reply

