Diversity Book Bingo Suggestions

I’ve come across the #DiversityDecBingo challenge and I have some suggestions for anyone else looking to participate! Also, there’s several categories where I could use some help, and I would welcome some suggestions from everyone else.

Image result for range of ghosts by elizabeth bear

Non-Western Cultural Fantasy 

 

Image result for the mirror empireNon-Binary Main Character

 

 

Refugee Main Character

I actually don’t think any of the books I’ve read qualifies for this one. Does anyone have any suggestions? Preferably something that falls under fantasy or science fiction?

27209443POC Superheroes

 

 

 

Image result for six of crowsChronic Pain Sufferers 

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

I’ve actually not been doing so great at finding SFF books with disabled main characters in general. Or at least books where the magic doesn’t end up “curing” them. Anyone have any suggestions?

 

Image result for stranger by rachel manija brownDemisexual Main Character

Stranger by Rachel Manija Brown and Sherwood Smith

There’s generally a shortage of books with ace spectrum protagonists, so this specific identity is sorely lacking in representation. Again, suggestions are appreciated.

 

Image result for god's war kameron hurleyMuslim Main Character

 

Image result for full fathom five max gladstoneTrans Main Character

I haven’t gotten to it yet, but I’ve heard good things about Chameleon Moon by RoAnna Sylver.

Diverse Non-fiction 

I’m skipping over this category since I’m not great about actually reading non-fiction. Besides this book blog has always been unabashedly SFF focused. But I do want to give a shout out to Funny in Farsi!

Image result for The Sorcerer of the Wildeeps by Kai Ashante WilsonPOC or Interracial M/M

This is another category where I could do a lot better in. I tend to read more f/f than m/m, so the only qualifying book I think I’ve actually read for this is The Sorcerer of the Wildeeps by Kai Ashante Wilson. Anyone got any suggestions for POC m/m SFF? Especially if it’s more adventure oriented than romance oriented?

 

Image result for planetfall emma newmanMental Health Awareness 

This is another category I would love suggestions for.

 

Image result for sorcerer to the crown zen choAsian Main Character

 

Image result for Labyrinth Lost Zoraida CórdovaOwn Voices

 

Image result for the devourers indra dasNon-Western (Real World) Setting

 

POC on Book Covers

I think the majority of covers I’m showing here have POC on them. I can’t think of anything that would be in this category but none of the others, so I’ll skip over it.

Image result for akata witchPOC with Natural Hair

 

Image result for borderline by mishell bakerDisabled Main Character

Again, if you know of any SFF books with disabled main characters, please comment!

Image result for ariah by b.r. sandersSFF with an LGBTQIA+ Main Character

 

Pansexual Main Character

I don’t think I’ve ever read a book with any character who has on page identified themselves as pansexual. I know Leigh Bardugo said that Jasper from Six of Crows was pan, but I don’t remember how that was expressed in the book…. anyone got suggestions?

Image result for Killer of Enemies by Joseph BruchacIndigenous Main Character

 

Image result for The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily SkrutskieF/F Romance

 

Image result for wake of vultures lila bowenBiracial Main Character

 

Image result for on the edge of gone by corinne duyvisNeurodiversity

I would love some more suggestions of books with a neurodivergent protagonist!

 

Image result for an accident of stars foz meadowsAsexual or Aromantic Main Character

 

I’d love to participate in this challenge! Based on the books in my TBR, I could go diagonal from the top left to the bottom right if I find a book with a Muslim main character. As far as I know, I don’t have any qualifying books on my radar. If nothing else, this will be a chance to research possible new titles for my ever growing list of books to read.

As I’ve said before, all book recommendations are highly appreciated!

11 thoughts on “Diversity Book Bingo Suggestions

  1. This sounds like a terrific challenge! I may have to try to see if I can get enough books on my TBR pile to make a bingo. ^_^

    *thinks* For MCs dealing with chronic pain, you could look at Jacqueline Koyanagi’s Ascension, I think. There’s also M.C.A. Hogarth’s Blood Ladders trilogy, but the first book does end up with a “cure” and that will likely disqualify it for people despite, from what I understand, drawing heavily on the author’s own experiences with chronic pain.

    I’m afraid the only other book I can think of featuring disability is an Arthurian-inspired historical detective rather than SFF. That’s The Killing Way by Tony Hays, though, in case someone else would like the suggestion. And Anne Elliot’s Twilight of Avalon books feature and MC wth PTSD, iirc. Oh! N.K. Jemisin’s The Broken Kingdoms, perhaps? Oree is blind, though there’s some magic that negates that to a relatively large extent.

    I think Amy Rae Durreson’s Reawakening and Resistance might qualify as POC or Interracial M/M, but it’ll depend on whether you think fantastical human cultures and races count for the challenge.They’re definitely heavier on the adventure than the romance, but the first has some… uncomfortable power dynamics given the topic and I’d actually probably advise skipping it for a challenge like this because of that.

    *scuffs feet* And I’ve got a whole list of books featuring demisexual characters here, if it’ll help anyone. I should note that, as far as I know, most of the books on the list are same-sex pairings and they all lean heavily towards being m/m. (I also haven’t read most of them yet.) I hope it’s okay to mention it!

    I’m actually quite disappointed in myself with how hard it is to come up with good SFF suggestions in some of these categories, even knowing my memory for titles is rubbish and I’m deliberately sticking to books I’ve read. 😦 Need to work on that! I’ll be really curious to see what people are reading for the challenge and what recommendations everyone has!

    Good luck with the challenge! ^_^

    1. Thank you so much for these suggestions! I’ve added a number of them on my Goodreads To Read list. Your list on demi characters is really great. I know it’s not specifically SFF, but I think I’ll add it to the resource section of my SFF LGBTQIA page anyway.

      1. You’re welcome! I hope they’re useful. (Oh! I forgot! Amy does write erotica, so take note of that. I’m not sure why I forgot to mention it initially. Sorry about that. T_T)

        Thank you. ^_^ I’d be honoured if you add it. I try to keep it as up-to-date as I can. (I still need to add one by Megan Derr that I was told about recently, actually.) I aim to have read the majority of them one day. I’d have loved to have a list that’s specifically SFF, but when I started out there was so little. For a while, I honestly thought there wasn’t anything at all. I think I’ll split it up into different genres eventually, though. The list would get really unwieldy otherwise.

        This thread and this GR list have a bunch of suggestions too. They’re not divided by genre, but they’re all by Muslim authors.

      2. I know what you mean about it seeming like there’s so little. I’ve read only a handful of traditionally published books with ace spectrum protagonists – I mean I can literally count them on one hand. I know of a few indie titles that I haven’t gotten to yet, and I really need to. I just wish there were more options available. And if there were more asexual characters, maybe people would actually know what I mean when I say I’m asexual.
        Thanks for the two other lists! I’ll go through them and look for books that might fit what I’d like.

  2. I know what you mean about it seeming like there’s so little. I’ve read only a handful of traditionally published books with ace spectrum protagonists – I mean I can literally count them on one hand

    I can just inch past counting trad books with ace spec main characters on one hand, but that’s still not really saying a lot. Most of the ones I’ve read and seen are indie titles. I wish there were more options available too. Maybe I should focus my reading next year on the ace spec books I have. Then there’ll be more reviews of ace spec books out there. That’ll hopefully help too. ^_^

    Thanks for the two other lists! I’ll go through them and look for books that might fit what I’d like.

    You’re welcome! I should have some links to a couple of lists focusing on ace spec books somewhere as well. *rummages around* Ah, here is the first one. And the second. There’ll be some overlap between them. (Full disclosure disclaimer: My books are on the lists too.) Hopefully there’ll be some great books in there as well. ^_^

    1. Thanks for even more lists! I’ve come across one before, but the other is new to me. I’ll need to spend some time sorting through it. I actually ended up making a Goodreads list for ace/aro spec SFF a while back – https://www.goodreads.com/list/show/105434.Aro_and_Ace_Spectrum_Characters_in_SFF

      I saw that you had a story about demisexuality, a princess, and cake on Wattpad? I’ve bookmarked it but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. Is it a short story or full length novel?

      1. Ooooooh. Thank you! ^_^ I need to get into the habit of bookmarking GR lists, so I don’t keep losing them. I know several people have made some good ones and I keep forgetting. >> Do you recall which of them are specifically aro rather than ace, by chance?

        I do! It’s a short story that I hope offers people a more accessible introduction to what demisexuality is and why it’s emphatically not the same as being allosexual. I’m aiming to expand the idea of it into a proper trilogy over the course of next year, but it’s a completed short story in its own right. I hope you’ll enjoy it if you decide to read it! (Please note: It does come with a trigger warning for suicide ideation.)

      2. For all the books I’ve read I added a note to give more information. If you click on where it says “one person voted” you can see my comment for each book. Of the ones I’ve read, An Accident of Stars was the only one with a protagonist who was explicitly aromantic and not asexual. I listed the protagonist of Clariel as being aro ace, although the words aren’t explicitly used.
        Thanks for the heads up! I’ll probably get to the short story sometime after exams. 🙂

  3. I’m keeping a sharp eye out for as many recs for the bingo square as I can find! I’m not doing the challenge, but I anticipate getting zillions of book ideas from people who are. :p

    I actually HAVE a rec for a book with refugee protags! I just added it to my list — Zana Fraillon’s The Bone Sparrow! I am so pumped to read it!

Leave a Reply

