Monthly Recap October 2016

Welcome to my monthly recap. Here’s where I say a little on the books I DNF’d this month, go over what I reviewed in October, and look ahead to what I’ll be reading and reviewing in November.

30354752I made it about maybe sixteen percent of the way through The Impending Possession of Scarlet Wakebridge-Rose by S.L. Saboviec. It turned out to be more paranormal than urban fantasy, which was what I was hoping for. It didn’t seem terrible, but I just couldn’t get myself interested in it. I may have given it longer if I was reading it at some other point in time, but I’ve had trouble focusing on books lately.

2315892

Best Served Cold by Joe Abercrombie is another book that I probably would have finished if I’d been reading it six months ago. I was about half way through when I forgot it in my dorm room one morning. Then I never ended up going back to it. I think it was more grimdark than I wanted? Which I suspected going in, but Joe Abercrombie is such a big name I thought I’d try something by him. At first I was concerned that the protagonist, Monza, would be the only female character, but more did end up joining the cast later on.


I already have a reviews of Slipping, a collection of short fiction and essays by SF author Lauren Beukes, and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo scheduled to be posted in November. I’m working on reviews of Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas, Earth Logic by Laurie J. Marks and Gold Throne in Shadow by M.C. Planck.

Beyond that, I don’t have any firm plans on what I’ll be reading exactly. I’d like to try and work through some of the unread books I own before Christmas. But I have enough in my TBR stack that I wouldn’t be able to read all of them in a month, so that doesn’t narrow it down that much.

My anxiety seems to have been doing better in the last couple of weeks, so hopefully I’ll be finding it easier to read again. On the other hand, I’ve really got to step up the work for a history paper I’ve got due at the end of the semester, so my time for pleasure reading will probably be decreasing.


Here’s a recap of the books I reviewed in October:

4 stars

The Starlit Wood: New Fairy Tales edited by Dominik Parisien and Navah Wolfe

A Darkly Beating Heart by Lindsay Smith

After Atlas by Emma Newman

The Mountain of Kept Memory by Rachel Neumeier

3 1/2 stars

Shoggoths in Bloom by Elizabeth Bear

The Swan Riders by Erin Bow

Root of Unity by S.L. Huang

Plastic Smile by S.L. Huang

The Wizard Hunters by Martha Wells

3 stars

The Reader by Traci Chee

Sword of the Bright Lady by M.C. Planck

R/evolution by Tenea D. Johnson

I also read and gave mini reviews of some SFF short fiction this month and made a post on some of my favorite anti-heroines in the genres.


What books are you planning on reading in November?

Leave a Reply

