Books I Didn’t Finish in July 2016 + What’s Up in August?

Welcome to the usual round up of books that I didn’t finish in the previous month. At the end of the post I also talk some about what I’ll be reading and reviewing this month.

25203675

I made it 160 pages into Roshani Chockshi’s The Star-Touched Queen. The high point of what I read was the beautiful writing and imagery. Unfortunately, the heroine so far had displayed no agency and made no impact on the plot (which had slowed down to a crawl at that point). There also seemed to be a strong vein of “Not Like Other Girls” with the only other female character depicted favorably being five years old. The few others were all depicted as horrible shrews who were only interested in frivolous things like gossip and treated the protagonist terribly. Possibly it gets better later in the book, but judging by the reviews I’m guessing not. Also, why was the love interest in love with the protagonist before he’d even met her?

24202895I read just over a hundred pages of Sound by Alexandra Duncan before deciding to quit. It didn’t seem completely terrible, but it wasn’t very good either. The romantic relationship stinks of “insta-love” – the heroine is willing to give up everything and risk her life to help out a girl she’s had four conversations with. Oh, and by the third conversation it had gone “beyond a crush.” I wasn’t connecting to any of the characters or interested in the plot. It still might be worth a look if you’re looking for a YA lesbian SF story.


As for what’s up in August, reviews of A Little Knowledge by Emma Newman, The Timeseer’s Gambit by Kate McIntyre, Pantomime by Laura Lam, Ghost Talkers by Mary Robinette Kowal, and Of Sand and Malice Made by Bradley P. Beaulieu are already written and scheduled to go up at varying times this month.

I have read but not yet written reviews for Borderline by Mishell Baker, The Bullet-Catcher’s Daughter by Rod Duncan, Ammonite by Nicola Griffith, and All Fall Down by Ally Carter.

From the local library, I have False Hearts by Laura Lam, The Fall of Kings by Ellen Kushner, The Steel Seraglio by Mike and Linda Carey, and Dark Orbit by Carolyn Gilman. On hold but not yet arrived are Will Do Magic for Small Change by Andrea Hairston, Sing the Four Quarters by Tanya Huff, Last Song Before Night by Ilana C. Meyer, The City in the Lake by Rachel Neumeier, and The Thorn of Dentonhill by Marshell Ryan Maresca. All of these are available in the Houston library system but not from the local library near my college. Hopefully I’ll be able to at least try all of them before I head back to school at the end of the month.

On Netgalley, I’ve been approved for ARCs of Magic Binds by Ilona Andrews, After Atlas by Emma Newman, Ninth City Burning by J. Patrick Black, and The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco. I don’t know how many of them I’ll actually read this month, but my guess is that only Ninth City Burning will have a review posted this month.

Right now I’m continuing with The Republic of Thieves read along. My copy of Four Roads Cross by Max Gladstone just arrived in the mail, so that’s probably the next book I’ll be starting.


Here were the July reviews in case you missed anything:

5 stars

The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage by Sydney Padua

4 stars

The Guns of Empire by Django Wexler.

Fire Logic by Laurie J. Marks

An Accident of Stars by Foz Meadows

Plain Kate by Erin Bow

Stiletto by Daniel O’Malley

3 stars

All Is Fair by Emma Newman

Any Other Name by Emma Newman

The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow

Cagebird by Karin Lowachee

Emilie and the Hollow World by Martha Wells

Broken by Susan Jane Bigelow

The Sudden Appearance of Hope by Claire North

Karen Memory by Elizabeth Bear

Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith

Court Duel by Sherwood Smith

Heroine Complex by Sarah Kuhn

2 stars

The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich


That about wraps it up. What were some of your favorite books of July? What will you be reading in August?

4 thoughts on “Books I Didn’t Finish in July 2016 + What’s Up in August?

  1. I read an excellent book about pit bulls in July — very enlightening — but I’m anticipating lots of extra-good reads out of August. I have a couple of thrrrrrrilling Netgalley ARCs, plus a bunch of comics and other fun things on tap. Hopefully I’ll have more time to read in August. July was ridic busy.

    1. I think I may have read reviews of the pit bull book? It sounded good. I’ve got what feels like a mass of Netgalley ARCs. I just got approved for a copy of Ariah, which I’ve heard generally good things about (it was nominated for the Tiptree and won a Bisexual Book award)

  2. Lmao, I am such a sucker – I was totally nodding along with you in disdain at the dreaded insta-love…but then I connected the dots with ‘heroine’ + ‘girl she just met’ = LESBIANS and now I’ve added that on Goodreads to my TBR. Siiigh, I cannot resist genre LGBT books!

    PS. I am super jealous of your ARCs right now – Ilona Andrews and Rin Chupeco are my ultimate faves! Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

