The Republic of Thieves Read Along Part 4

In week four of The Republic of Thieves read along, we’re covering from Interlude (The Moncraine Company) to end Book II. I’ve provided the questions for this week. As usual, spoilers are below the cut.

1. What do you think of the young Gentleman Bastards acting skills? Do you think they’ll be able to pull off this performance?

I feel like Locke would be a great actor. We’ve seen him put on so many guises and personas and completely convince whoever he’s talking to. It would be a huge surprise if he were bad at it! I was initially surprised that Jean performed so poorly, but Locke’s explanation makes sense. We have mainly seen Jean perform fairly simplistic, one note roles that don’t require a lot of speaking.

As for the play itself… I’m betting that there’s some major hurdles they’ve yet to encounter.

2. Any opinions/impressions regarding Baron Boulidazi? Do you think Locke will be able to spin his way out of this new mess?

Yikes. So there’s things I remember about him from the first time I read this book… I don’t want to say much more regarding spoilers, but suffice to say that I’m extremely wary of him.

As for how Locke will get himself out of this new mess, I don’t actually remember. However, I do have faith in Locke’s ability to BS his way out of anything.

3. For the present day timeline, do you think Locke and Jean will be able to get back to the city before Sabetha wrecks serious damage?

I’m guessing that they’re going to be in serious trouble as soon as they get back. No idea what form it will take exactly, but I think they’re going to have to be digging themselves out of a hole on this one.

4. Any other thoughts on this week’s reading?

It feels like not a lot happened this week, especially in the present day sections. Right now, the past sections are a lot more interesting than the present. Hopefully that will change in the upcoming weeks.

Leave a Reply

