Any Other Name Read Along Part 4

Any Other Name Banner

Welcome to my fourth and final post for the read along of Emma Newman’s Any Other Name, the second book in the Split World series. I’m hosting this week, and, as ever, there are spoilers below the cut.

After her meeting with Miss Rainer, Cathy is determined to tackle the Agency and bring feminism to the Nether. What are her odds of success? Is Lucy a trustworthy ally?

I really hope she succeeds. Nether society needs some shaking up. But I don’t know how much things can change when the current status quo is being held in place by the fae, whose magical powers make them almost impossible to challenge successfully. Then again, we know that the fae have been beaten before – by the sorcerers. However, Cathy lacks their resources. But the sorcerers themselves are now all but gone. The split worlds seem ripe for change.

I think Lucy can be trusted. I know some people in our read along had doubts about her, but at this point I think she can safely be trusted. She doesn’t seem to know much more than Cathy about all the intrigue going on in this series.

Will wants another chance at a happy ending for him and Cathy. Thoughts?

Urgghhhhhhh, NOOOOOO! Will can go die in a ditch. If he and Cathy get some sort of happily ever after, I will be so angry.

However, I’m hopeful that that won’t happen? But I don’t see how Cathy can escape, short of one of them dying. Maybe if she’s somehow able to challenge the fae successfully?

Do you think Lord Iron is to be trusted? Is Sam making the right move by joining CoFerrum? Any thoughts on his wife’s death?

I don’t trust Lord Iron. Not one bit. How do we know that he wasn’t behind the death?

Actually… I’m having some suspicions as to if Leanne is really dead. Earlier on, someone brought up the possibility of changlings playing a role in this story line. What if the body was a fake and she’s somehow involved with the Elemental Court, whoever they are? Do they have their own world too, or is it just Mundanus, the Nether, and Exilium?

If Leanne’s really dead… I don’t know what I think of that plotting decision. It smells a little like fridging.

Do you think Mercia is behind the deaths of the Sorcerers? If so, what sort of deal do you think he struck with Lady Rose?

I’m not sure, but I suspect that Mercia’s being set up. I have very little clue what’s going on in this plot line. Actually, I could say that about most of the plotlines in the book. I’d hope that the next installment would provide answers, but at this rate there’ll only be more questions…

What are your predictions for the next book?

Before going into my predictions for All Is Fair, I want to reflect on my predictions for Any Other Name.

  • We’re going to find out more about what’s going on in London with the rogue sorcerer and the humans being kidnapped. – This one sort of came true? I’m still confused though, and I think there’s a lot more to be uncovered.
  • The Agency will have a greater focus. – This one definitely came true, but not as much as I’d hoped.
  • Will will have some character growth. – It happened in the opposite direction! He got even worse! That was not what I meant!
  • Sam’s missing memory will be important. – No dice. Maybe next book?

Now for my predictions for All Is Fair:

  • Sam’s missing memory will be important. I’ve been saying this for three books now. Third time’s the charm?
  • Cathy will find out about Will using a love potion on her.
  • There’ll be war. Between the Sorcerer and Mercia and maybe within Nether society itself.
  • Cathy will take on both the Agency and the patriarchy.
  • We’ll find out more about the Elemental Court.
  • Amelia and Cornelius will make another attempt to off Cathy.
  • Cathy will find out she’s pregnant.
  • We’ll find out why the fae are so obsessed about Will and Cathy having a child together.
  • Cathy and Will will butt heads when he tries to curtail her actions, because she’s so obviously having an affair with Sam. Hypocrisy much?
  • We’ll see Mercia and learn more about the sorcerers.

I’ll be back next week with my first post for All Is Fair! There’ll also be a review of Any Other Name going up sometime in early July.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. imyril says:

    100% yes on Cathy being pregnant. And yes on them butting heads (I’d forgotten Will thinks Sam is her lover *sigh*).

    …I had a sneaky wonder about Leanne not being dead too, but wrote it off as me trying to find reasons to be less angry at this whole storyline. But now you’ve reminded me about the photo and it’s got me thinking again. Losing the joy of that day may have just made it easier for Sam not to follow Leanne to London and hence put her at risk (although I don’t honestly think his presence would have changed anything), but reading your point about changelings I wonder whether there’s some detail in the photo that could be a clue to this?

    1. I feel like if she were actually dead it would have happened on page or there would be more evidence that she’s actually, 100% dead. Maybe she was replaced with a changling months/years ago, but the changlings have some sort of shelf life and only live so long? I have only vague theories.

      1. imyril says:

        That’s an interesting thought. Hence all the medical issues – strokes, heart attacks etc.

      2. Ooooooh, I like this thought. That would explain a lot. And maybe Leanne trying to reach him during the attack is also related somehow? She seemed pretty sure that she wanted nothing at all to do with him, so I felt her calling him voluntarily seemed a little… out of character.

      3. Yeah, I was also wondering what was going on with that cell phone call.

  2. @lynnsbooks says:

    I hadn’t even considered about Leanne not actually being dead – it’s a good idea though. In terms of Will and Cathy – Will has acted terribly and annoyed me so much during this series to date. I keep hoping that he will wake up and smell the coffee. I think in terms of their relationship, well Cathy is staying in the Nether now and has a purpose but I think it will be much easier for her if she has Will on side so I’m hoping that the two of them are going to be honest with each other, come clean, and see if there is any basis left to build a relationship on. If not, well, maybe the changes that Cathy achieves will mean she can have a divorce!
    I wondered about Sophia – perhaps she’s a changeling? There’s definitely something a little mysterious about that element of the story.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Will does need to wake up and smell the coffee at some point. But I’m tired of waiting for him to do so. Whenever I felt like he was about to come to some realization and have some positive character growth, he’d end up doing something horrible immediately afterwards.

  3. I really like the way you’ve laid it out. It didn’t even occur to me that Sam’s missing memory didn’t even come into play in this book! I remember wanting answers to that! And ooh, the possibility of Cathy finding out she’s pregnant. Yep, I had that thought too. Now that would be interesting.

Leave a Reply

