Any Other Name Read Along Part 3

Any Other Name Banner

This is the third week of the read along of Emma Newman’s Any Other Name, book two in the Split Worlds series. This week’s questions are provided by Lynn’s Book Blog. Spoilers under the cut.

Cathy has her first meeting with Lord Iris. What were your first impressions? And what do you think it is that Lord Iris and Poppy both now ‘see’ in Cathy??

Wow, I thought you couldn’t get creepier than Lord Poppy, but I was wrong. Lord Iris is way more menacing. Maybe it’s because Poppy seems somehow amused by Cathy? Or maybe it’s because Iris gives off the impression of being only a hair’s breadth away from destroying her.

Also, I have no idea what it is that they see in Cathy. I didn’t see how it would be possible for her to create an artistic masterpiece in a month (it takes way more than a month to learn how to paint or draw). So it makes sense that it’s not artistic ability, but I don’t know what else it could be. Besides her capacity for rebellion, which I don’t see either Lord Iris or Lord Poppy liking…

We had an insight into Amelia and also an insight into Cornelius – what are your thoughts on the two of them now and also how does this make you feel in terms of Will?

Amelia is a nasty person, but I still feel a degree of pity for her. Her options in life are very limited. Right now she’s got to choose between being Will’s mistress or her implied fate as a sex slave if she’s taken by the Agency. I still don’t want her to get what she wants! If there’s any luck she’ll get caught once the Agency is dismantled. Or possibly she would die in some way? I feel like there are character deaths coming. Maybe involving the bandits? Or the plan for Cathy’s murder going horribly wrong?

I’m saving all my thoughts on Will for a later question.

It seems that everyone is puzzled by Will and Cathy’s match. Even Will jokingly (or not) wonders if he’s being offered up as a sacrifice – any thoughts as to why Will and Cathy as oppose to their more ‘suitable’ siblings?

This is another question where my answer is “I have no idea.” I would have guessed that it had to do with Lord Poppy’s particular interest in Cathy, except he meets Cathy in the first place because of the engagement. Maybe they’re being set up to take the fall for something? We know something sketchy’s going down in London.

Let’s just discuss the consummation of the marriage and the overall feelings afterwards? Thoughts please.

I’m done with Will. Completely, 100% done.

I’ve seen posts before about how love potions in fantasy novels are akin to date rape drugs. I agree. And I think Cathy will be utterly horrified once she finds out about the potion. I’m sure that she will find out – my guess is that she’ll decode the entry on the ledger that records the sale of the love potion to Will.

Urgh. Will has wholly crossed that line where I’m willing to forgive a character. I want him gone.

Max and the gargoyle, how do you think the investigation is fairing? What do you make of their tactics?

I really wonder at how they’re carrying out the investigation. What if there had been someone in that room once they’ve arrived?

I’m mainly wondering about those mysterious codes on the files.

Sam and his marriage. Any more thoughts about Lord Iron or Neugent?? What about the other couples who had rings forged?

I’m guessing that his wife is the next spouse slatted to die? But nothing here makes any sense. I’m still missing the “why” of the whole matter. Is Neugent the same person as Lord Iron or is he trying to protect her from Lord Iron? I have so many questions.

See you next week for the final section of Any Other Name!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Yes, I think Cathy will find out and I hope she gives Will what he deserves. What an absolute scumbag. I honestly don’t know what the author is trying to do with these characters, but if she’s hoping to redeem Will in the reader’s eyes and make us root for Cathy and Will getting together in the end, she’s going about it the completely wrong way. I don’t think it’s possible for me to come back from that.

    All my hopes are resting on Sam’s story line now. I am desperately curious about the wedding rings and the deal with his wife’s boss.

    1. I’m deciding to trust in Emma Newman that they won’t get some happily ever after. If everything’s a okay and they’re all in love at the end of the series, I may scream and throw something. But Cathy’s sections (and the book on whole) has strong feminist leanings that I’m pretty sure that won’t be the case.

Leave a Reply

