Between Two Thorns Group Read Part 4

This is the final week in the Between Two Thorns read along. I enjoyed the book a lot and plan on joining in for the read along of the second of the series. Spoilers for the end of the book below the cut.

1. We seem to have a number of separate threads even by the end of the book – what do you make of it all so far. Were you surprised by any of the final revelations?

I thought there would be more information on the human trafficking going on in London, but I’m guessing that it’s being left for later in the series. It did actually come as a surprise to me that the Albas were in on the plot. I know some other people in the read along were suspicious of them, but for some reason it never occurred to me that they were involved!
2. What are your impressions of the world that Emma Newman has created here?

I really like the world. I think what makes it unique is how it combines historical fantasy and urban fantasy via the Nether. The juxtaposition is a lot of fun. There’s also other elements, from the rift between sorcerers and fae to all the fairies being named after flowers, that I find interesting.
3. Do you have any favorite characters so far? Any characters that you’re still not sure of and who do you positively dislike?

Cathy remains my favorite, but the character I’m most interested in watching in the next book is Will. I’m still sure that he’s going to change some over the course of the series, so I want to keep an eye on him. It’ll also be interesting to watch what happens to the Albas, Amelia in particular. For characters I dislike… I’m not too fond of Sam, but I think it’s possible that he could improve. And obviously, I hate Cathy’s family.
4. What are your predictions for moving into the next story?

  • We’re going to find out more about what’s going on in London with the rogue sorcerer and the humans being kidnapped.
  • The Agency will have a greater focus.
  • Will will have some character growth.
  • Sam’s missing memory will be important.

I’ll be posting an official review of the book in a day or so. This weekend has been hectic, and I have some catching up to do when it comes to reading and reviewing. This weekend also marks the second year anniversary of this blog. Hooray for that! I really enjoy writing my thoughts about these different books and getting to hear from all you other, bookishly inclined people.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Oooooooh. Sam’s missing memory! I wonder if that missing memory is going to get Lord Poppy into trouble. I can’t imagine that Lord Poppy would have missed the wedding ring, so what game is he playing with Sam and whoever is protecting him? Or, am I off-base, and did he genuinely miss it because it’s such a small thing?

    Congratulations on your blogiversary! ❤

    1. Good point! We haven’t seen much about the rulers of the Fae (other than that they’re merciless, as implied by Lady Rose’s fate)

Leave a Reply

