Red Seas Under Red Skies Group Read Part 4

Two ships on high seas under full sail. Text: Red Seas under Red Skies - Gentleman Bastards Read-along

In week four of the Red Seas Under Red Skies read along, we’ve sailed beyond Tal Verrar. Questions for this week are provided by imyril at x + 1. As always, there are spoilers below the cut.

We get to know the crew of the Poison Orchid – and get a glimpse of other crews ashore in Port Prodigal. What do you think of the pirates? Any particular favorites?

Zamira remains my favorite. Who can compete with a badass pirate mom? For the crews of the other ships, I don’t know if I’ve seen enough of them to have any opinions or favorites, although Jacqueline does intrigue me. Rodanov is the one we’ve seen the most of, but I don’t trust him.

I am interested by how they’ve got a  sort of government, formed by the captains of the different pirate ships. It’s very loose and informal, but it does exist. I wasn’t expecting that sort of organization.

Strange things happen at sea. How did you find the Parlour Passage?

Creepy! I think it has to be connected to the Elders somehow. Or, if it’s not the Elders at least knew about it and were able to prepare for it. The evidence is there in those huge stones that somehow ward off non-human life coming into the harbor of Port Prodigal.

I feel like the Elderglass and the other strange and ancient remnants are a large part of what gives the world so much flavor. There’s a sense of history, and a mystery there too. I wonder if we’re ever find out more?

Rodanov has a double-agent aboard Drakasha’s ship. Any idea what Utgar’s orders might be?

No idea, but I doubt it’s anything good. At the very least, he’s there to pass information to Rodanov.

We end up where we started – back on the docks with a crossbow stand-off. Now you know how we got here, do you have any change of heart on where Jean stands?

Nope, I still think it’s a ploy on the part of Jean. We saw them make up their argument, so I don’t see why this would be real. I’ve never doubted that Jean always has Locke’s back.

2 thoughts on “Red Seas Under Red Skies Group Read Part 4

  1. Zamira is fabulous. I love how she holds her crew’s respect and holds her own amongst the pirate captains (that line about her and Jacqueline having to be careful how they hugged because they’re both bristling with so many weapons!)

    …and I do hope that we eventually learn more about the Eldren. We might not – it might stay background flavour and rumour (I vaguely recall a bit more about them in Republic, but still rumour rather than fact) – but I hope. I hope.

Leave a Reply

