2016 SFF Releases on My Radar Summer Edition

I’ve twice before posted about upcoming books this year that I’m excited for, once back in March and once in December. The lists tend to shift as books get published and new books come on my radar. Oh, and I recognize that May is not usually considered “summer” but I’m from Texas. It’s sure hot enough that it feels like summer.

Without farther adieu, here’s some of the upcoming books I’m excited for:

25746699May 17th – The Sudden Appearance of Hope by Claire North. I’m excited for this stand alone novel since I’ve enjoyed everything I’ve read before by Claire North (who also publishes as Kate Griffin and Catherine Webb). I rarely give out five star ratings, but Claire North’s Touch won one from me last year. This book is supposed to be about a girl who becomes slowly forgotten by the rest of the world.

23524322May 17th – Roses and Rot by Kat Howard. I had the privilege and pleasure of reviewing this one as an ARC! Thus I can certify that this is a book I would recommend. Roses and Rot a story of two sisters, interwoven with dark fairy tale elements. I can’t say too much about the fantasy aspects without diving into spoilers, but it’s been one of the best debut novels I’ve read.

17969479

May 30th – Memories of Ash by Intisar Khanani. Is there finally a release date? It feels like I’ve been waiting for the sequel to Sunbolt for forever, but according to Goodreads it’ll be published this May! And where Sunbolt was a novella it looks like this installment is a full length novel? Whatever length it is, I’ll be reading it. Intisar Khanani is the best self published fantasy author I’ve ever come across, and her work delights.

17733757June 2nd – Stiletto by Daniel O’Malley. I really loved The Rook when I read it three years ago. It’s an imaginative, darkly funny urban fantasy novel with a female lead who’s life doesn’t center around romance. And to make it even better, she has important relationships with other female characters! What’s not to like? Now imagine how excited I am for the sequel, Stiletto, being released four years after The Rook was first published.

28862254June 21st – White Sand by Brandon Sanderson. You can take one look at my review index and tell I’m a fan of Brandon Sanderson. However, White Sand is going to be something new – it’s a graphic novel based off one of his unpublished manuscripts. From the preview pages I’ve seen, the art looks good, and I can always count on Sanderson to give me a good story.

25890355July 5th – Paper and Fire by Rachel CaineInk and Bone was one of the better YA fantasies I read last year. It was well written and had pretty original world building. Plus, the issues it’s exploring with books and access to knowledge is a bit different than any other YA speculative series I’m aware of. Here’s hoping that I enjoy Paper and Fire as much (if not more than) the first installment!

26114222

July 26th – Four Roads Cross by Max Gladstone. Max Gladstone’s Craft Sequence is one of my absolute favorite fantasy series. The world building is some of the best I’ve ever seen, the characters are brilliant and super diverse, and the writing is knock your socks off good. So far all of the books have been independent stories set within the same, large world (say Full Fathom Five and Last First Snow). However, Four Roads Cross will be returning to Tara, the protagonist of the first book, Three Parts Dead. Will it still be a stand alone? Who knows. Will I be rereading and reviewing Three Parts Dead for the occasion? Definitely.

26225506August 2nd – An Accident of Stars by Foz Meadows. I’ve never actually read any fiction by Foz Meadows, but I’m a big fan of her blog (I highly suggest her essay “PSA: Your Default Settings Are Not Apolitical”). So when I heard she had a queer feminist portal fantasy novel coming out, I figured I had to try it. While there’s hardly any reviews yet, the blurb sounds awesome. And check out that cover art! I’m a sucker for pretty covers.

25845201August 9th – The Guns of Empire by Django Wexler. While I haven’t been happy with some world building and story choices this series has made (mainly in regards to race), it’s one of the few well written fantasy series out there I’ve found with a lesbian lead. And there’s so many other great female characters too! Although with everything that’s been happening on TV this year, I’m now sort of paranoid. But, hey, Winter made the cover!

26228034August 16th – The Obelisk Gate by N.K. Jemisin. The Fifth Season was one of the best books I read in 2015, so I’m anxiously awaiting its sequel, The Obelisk Gate. This is a story about a woman searching for her daughter in a land broken by constant apocalypses. Let’s hope that The Obelisk Gate is as powerful as its predecessor.

For brevity’s sake, I’ve capped this list at ten books. However, there’s others coming out in the later half of August that I’m also interested in, and there’s at least one release scheduled for August that doesn’t have cover art yet. I’ll be making a new post at the end of July or the beginning of August to cover those, plus some fall releases.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m awfully excited for the first four on your list! I’ve heard a lot of buzz about the Kat Howard book, and the other three are just authors I think are swell. The Rook was an utterly fun read, and I was crushed when it ended; could have read loads and loads more of it, and come June, I’ll be able to! 😀

    1. I was at an indie bookstore a few days ago, and the employee had met an author who’d gotten an ARC of Stiletto. So it actually exists! Presumably this means it won’t get moved up and will actually come out in June.

  2. I will be picking up a copy of White Sand too! 🙂 All ready had my comic book shop put in an order for me.

  3. thebookgator says:

    Ditto on waiting for Stiletto (actually, for most of your list) but hoping we won’t be waiting in vain…

    1. I’ve heard that other SFF authors have been given ARCs to blurb, so presumably it actually exists.

Leave a Reply

