Books I’ve Read in 2015 – Overview and Statistics

This year I have read 169 books (51 more than last year). I won’t list them all here – that would take up far too much room. Besides, they’ve all been reviewed and linked to in my Review Index page. Instead, here’s the break down on genre, protagonist, and authors.

Genera and Format Statistic

Total: 169

Average Books Read per Month: 14

Rereads: 26.04% (44/169)

Audio Books – 1.78% (3/169)

Graphic Novels – 1.18% (2/169)

Short Story Collections – 1.78% (3/169)

Non-fiction – 1.78% (3/169)

Fantasy – 75.74% (128/169)

Science Fiction – 16.57% (28/169)

Mystery – 1.18% (2/169)

Young Adult – 28.99% (49/169)

Author Statistics

Authors: 103

“New to Me” Authors: 65

Female Authors: 68.93% (71/103)

Male Authors: 30.10% (31/103)

The difference in percentage is accounted for by Ilona Andrews.

Books by Female Authors: 53.25% (90/169)

Books by Male Authors: 45.56% (77/169)

Books by Both Male and Female Authors: 1.18% (2/169)

Authors of Color: 20.39% (21/103)

Books by People of Color: 15.38% (26/169)

Protagonist* Statistics

*Protagonist defined as the person the book centers on.

Books with Female Protagonists: 47.34% (80/169)

Books with Male Protagonists: 31.36% (53/169)

Books with Multiple Protagonists: 17.16% (29/169)

Books with Non-Binary* Protagonists: 3.55% (6/169)

*Most of these are cases of the protagonist’s gender never being given or the protagonist being some sort of non-human creature (Ex. Ancillary Justice). The only book out of these that I also consider LGBTQ is Bone Dance by Emma Bull.

Books with Non-white Protagonists: 26.63% (45/169)

Books with LGBTQ Protagonists: 9.47% (16/169)

Most read authors (number of books read in parenthesis)

  1. Terry Pratchett (41)

2. Diane Duane (5)

3. Megan W Turner (4)

10. Kameron Hurley (3)

10. Brandon Sanderson (3)

10. Anne Leckie (3)

10. Nnedi Okorafor (3)

10. Kate Griffin/Claire North (3)

10. Django Wexler (3)

10. Martha Wells (3)

My favorite book from each month (doesn’t include rereads):

January – City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett

February – Clariel by Garth Nix

March – Shadow Scale by Rachel Hart

April – Dawn by Octavia Butler

May – In the Night Garden by Catherynne M. Valente

June – The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison

July – Last First Snow by Max Gladstone

August – The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin

September – Death of the Necromancer by Martha Wells/The Shepherd’s Crown by Terry Pratchett (The Wells novel was the better book, the Pratchett novel had a lot of emotions tied up in it)

October – Shadows of Self by Brandon Sanderson

November – Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

December – Touch by Claire North

Books I gave 5 stars (doesn’t include rereads):

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

In the Night Garden by Catherynne M. Valente

In the Cities of Coin and Spice by Catherynne M. Valente

Last First Snow by Max Gladstone

Goals and Overview

In my statistics post for 2014, the only firm goal I had for 2015 was to at least double the amount of books I read that were written by an author of color. I did accomplish that goal, which is to be expected given the low percentage I started out with.

Percentages of female authors and male authors stayed about equal this year, despite the Great Discworld Reread. I was deliberately trying to make up for it by alternating Discworld books with books by women.

If there’s one problem in my overall goal of diverse reading, it’s the LGBTQ books. The percentage actually went down this year, which is not what I had wanted to achieve.

To help with more diverse reading for 2016, I’ve signed up for an LGBTQIA reading challenge:

LGBT books challenge There’s different levels to the challenge that correspond with colors of the rainbow. My goal is to reach at least green (21 to 30 books with an LGBTQ main character).

While that’s the only official challenge I’ve signed up for, I do have other goals for 2016.

I want to continue reading books by women, with female authors making up at least 50%.

I want to continue reading books by authors of color. My plan is to read at least one book a month written by a person of color who’s work I haven’t read before. I want at least 30% of the books I read in 2016 to be by non-white authors.

I want to continue reading ARCs from Netgalley. My goal is to reach the point of reading and reviewing at least 20 ARCs, which means I will need to read at least 10 in 2016.

Happy New Year everyone! There should be a post with my favorite reads of 2015 going up sometime in January.

Leave a Reply

