Review of Falling in Love with Hominids by Nalo Hopkinson

23846151
This cover is simply beautiful. I love the striking color of her hair and how everything melds so well together.

Falling in Love with Hominids by Nalo Hopkinson. ★★★★

Falling in Love with Hominids is a collection of short stories by award winning Jamaican-born Canadian science fiction and fantasy author Nalo Hopkinson. Usually, I find short story collections a mixed bag – there’ll be some I like and some I dislike. However, in the case of Falling in Love with Hominids I enjoyed every single story in the collection.

This is a diverse set of stories written over many years and with different themes. I’d previously encountered one of the stories before, “The Easthound”, in a collection of YA post apocalyptic and dystopian stories. While I knew the twist this time around, I found it just as creepy as before. Then there’s stories like “Emily Breakfast,” a light hearted tale about a gay couple searching for their missing chicken (who happens to be fire breathing). All of these stories are well drawn and imaginative. Most involve contemporary settings with an added element of the fantastic.

I don’t want to go describing each of the eighteen stories, so suffice to say that this is a fantastic collection that I encourage lovers of fantasy and science fiction to pick up. It has certainly convinced me that I need to read some of Hopkinson’s novels.

Leave a Reply

