Review of The Tombs of Atuan by Ursula K. Le Guin

13662
I like the art work, but it’s just so tiny!

The Tombs of Atuan by Ursula K. Le Guin. ★★★

The Tombs of Atuan is the second book in Le Guin’s Earthsea series but can be read independently since it follows a different character. It’s a short but beautifully written book.

From the back cover blurb: “When young Tenar is chosen as high priestess to the ancient and nameless Powers of the Earth, everything is taken away – home, family, possessions, even her name. For she is now Arha, the Eaten One, guardian of the ominous Tombs of Atuan.”

 

The Tombs of Atuan  is the third book in the Earthsea series I’ve tried. While I liked it better than the other two, it will be the last time I attempt this series. For whatever reason, it just fails to connect to me emotionally. I just can’t get close to the characters, Arha or Ged. For the life of me, I don’t know why.

I’m not saying other people won’t like it – this book is a classic with glowing reviews. There’s obviously something of appeal.

 

One thought on “Review of The Tombs of Atuan by Ursula K. Le Guin

  1. That’s exactly how I felt about the first one – I couldn’t get behind Ged, and I couldn’t care about his struggles. The books were well done, it was just the character that I didn’t care for!

Leave a Reply

