Review of As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner

77013
Dull if well composed.

As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner. ★1/2

I hated As I Lay Dying. Part of me worries about this, since it’s a classic and presumably there must be something great about it. But whatever it is that makes people like Faulkner completely skipped me by.

I think I should preface the rest of the review with the acknowledgement that I read this as a school assignment. I would not have picked it up otherwise, and I would certainly not have continued with it.

The writing was torturous to get through. Just take a gander at “his pale eyes like wood set into his wooden face”. Thank goodness it was only 260 pages. It was hard enough to get through the writing and the tedium of it, and there was no way I could do so for longer.

It was also difficult to figure out what was actually happening in the book. If I hadn’t checked SparkNotes, I would never have figured out that a character was pregnant.

Also, I didn’t care about any of the characters, not the slightest bit. They were all self obsessed and unlikable.

I would not recommend As I Lay Dying.

 

Leave a Reply

