Art Update (December 2014 and January 2015)

This month has my fewest ever posts. Largely, it’s because I haven’t been reading much these past few weeks. I quit listening to the audio book of The Martian. I tried rereading In the Time of the Butterflies, but ultimately dropped it. Now I’m theoretically reading In the Garden of the Moon but am having trouble getting involved and haven’t picked it up in days. Ultimately, it’s hard to have posts on a book review blog when you aren’t reading.

However, I have done art since the last update!

I don’t have any new photos of the shaped canvas piece. I’ve touched up the paint work, but I’m still trying to figure out what to do for their background.

In November, I posted a painting of my sister playing the guitar. This painting was actually created for the Houston Young Artists’ Concert art show, which was a couple of weeks ago.

 photo IMG_0864_zps1b3a2e15.jpg

 photo 30939660-084c-4737-b757-b2f93542d3ef_zps80aa7fbb.jpg

Back in December, I made a number of fan art pieces, all in watercolor with colored pencil detailing on top, much like the painting of Eyolf I posted in the last update. The first was for Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle and was supposed to be for a contest she was hosting. Unfortunately, I missed the deadline.

 photo RavenCycle_zps007c7654.jpg

 

The other two fan pieces are both from the show The Legend of Korra, which ended in December.

 photo detail_zps239ba7b2.jpg

I’m a huge fan of Korrasami, if you can’t tell.

I also made a new photo manipulation, Nyx Arising.

To see a larger view and to receive image credits, click on the picture, which will take you to it’s DeviantART page.

In the last few weeks, I did some facial sketches for my characters, and ended up using those of the sisters Isen and Musikeri to produce a fully shaded drawing in my sketchbook.

IMG_0868 IMG_0869

IMG_0871IMG_0870

 photo IsenandMusi_zps18d02c91.jpg

In the last few weeks, I’ve started in on a Grand Writing Undertaking (another reason there’s been fewer posts on here). Of course, it wouldn’t be complete without a map of the setting. My map is still in progress, but here’s what I’ve done so far.

Scan_20150125 (2)

 

The first thing I do when I make a map is sketch it out in pencil. I outline and shade in the city blocks rather than drawing the streets. Then, I scan it to produce something like the image above.

What you see above is me coloring everything in. I’m trying to shade each area of the city a different color. I still have to finish the coloring, maybe shade it some, and add text.

Hopefully, I’ll get back into the jive of reading and next month will be better post wise.

Leave a Reply

