Review of A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin

13253102
Am I the only one who finds the covers for this series incredibly dull?

A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin. ★★★★1/2

A Storm of Swords is the third book of the Song of Ice and Fire series. You really need to read the first book, A Game of Thrones, first. This review may contain spoilers for the first two books.

While I was still at the beginning of this book, someone made a comment to me about George R.R. Martin killing off so many characters. My response was something along the lines of “well, actually there hasn’t been any major character deaths since Ned Stark in the first book.”

Then I reached the Red Wedding, and I realized what everyone was talking about. Suffice to say that there’s a number of major character deaths, both of POV characters and others. Luckily, none of my favorites died so I didn’t feel too upset. I was more shocked than anything else.

The character deaths were timely – there were just so many character that it was beginning to feel overwhelming. There were ten POV characters, and as a consequence hundreds of pages would go by before we picked up with the character again. This was especially frustrating when a character’s section ended on a cliff hanger and when their chapter had come around again, I’d already forgotten that they were in danger.

Despite the explosion of characters, I think A Storm of Swords might be my favorite of the series so far. I appreciated that not all the major twists and turns took place at the end, and I didn’t dislike any of these POV characters. There was also a twist in the epilogue which makes me excited for the next book.

If you’re on the third book, I figure that you already know how violent and such the series is, so I won’t bother going over any of those issues. Go read my reviews of the first two books if you want to know what I think about it.

If you’ve been a fan of the first two books, I don’t see any reason to be disappointed in the third installment.

Leave a Reply

