Review of Stalking Darkness by Lynn Flewelling

I find this cover too dark and chaotic.

Stalking Darkness by Lynn Flewelling. ★★★★

Stalking Darkness is the second book in Lynn Flwelling’s Nightrunner series, which starts with Luck in the Shadows. If you haven’t read the first book, you’ll need to before picking up Stalking Darkness. There may also be spoilers for the first book in this review.

I’ve heard that the later books decline in quality, but as of book two, the Nightrunner series is a solid fantasy series. My biggest issue with Stalking Darkness was the slow start. The plot didn’t pick up pace until after two hundred pages in, and I sometimes was bored by the purely world building scenes that tended to fill up the early pages.

In many ways, the world of the Nightrunner series tends to have the typical epic fantasy feel, but it also does something different through a culture that embraces human sexuality and a homosexual relationship between its leads.

I mentioned in the review of the first book that I was annoyed by the huge age gap between the aforementioned leads – one’s sixteen and the other’s fifty-eight. Yes, I know that the latter is of an elfin-like race that doesn’t age the way humans do, but I still don’t like it although it didn’t end up bothering me as much as I was worried it would.

I was a bit surprised by the ending of Stalking Darkness. Not that it was a bad ending – I’m quite happy with it – I was just assuming that the “Eater of Death” plot line would span the series, whereas everything wraps up well at the end. I’m not sure what to expect from the next book.

As previously stated, I find this series to be one of the better epic fantasies I’ve come across, and I would recommend it to anyone looking to read in that genre.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I really, really enjoyed the first three books in this series, and then, yes, I do think they decline in quality. But the third one’s quite good — it has lots of political machinations at a royal court, which is my fave!

    1. Thanks for the input! I may try to get a hold of the third more quickly then.

Leave a Reply

