Why I Did Not Finish Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed

15808366
I think this cover is really pretty! The colors are so peaceful, and I love the dream-like quality of it.

Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed.

I just couldn’t get into Throne of the Crescent Moon. I made it around a hundred and sixty pages in before I just stopped picking it up again. When I catch myself finding other things to do in order to avoid reading something, I know it’s time to drop the book.

In the case of Throne of the Crescent Moon, I think the writing was a large part of my problem. It so often felt stilted, and character emotions would fall flat. I think it’s the age old case of “show, don’t tell” – this book could benefit from some more showing and less telling, especially where characters are concerned.

The younger characters in particular just don’t feel realistic, coming off as one dimensional and too emotional (or perhaps just poorly described emotions). See this line in regard to Zamia, the female lead, who seemed to suffer this more than any other character:

“She wished, with tears forming in her eyes, that she could see her father, or her cousin, or any of her band, one more time.”

What’s so annoying about this is that the story and world itself could do so well if only the quality of writing was improved. I liked the world – it was nice to see something beyond the standard “Ye Old Medieval Europe,” and the plot would have worked really well for an urban fantasy type book.

If you do pick this one up, I wouldn’t recommend expecting too much out of it.

11487807
I think I like this version even better than the one I have. There’s action! (Even if Zamia, on the right, looks somewhat deranged)
2 Comments Add yours

  1. 210Darryl says:

    I picked that book off the shelf at Barnes & Noble easily a half dozen times but never bought it. You’re not the only person saying I made a wise choice.

  2. aartichapati says:

    I’m disappointed that people tend not to enjoy this one. Maybe Ahmed will get better with time? Or maybe there will be so many more amazing authors writing in a world like this one that publishers will be spoiled for choice 🙂

Leave a Reply

