Map of Nulia

Click to see a larger view.

I love drawing maps of everything I can think of, but only occasionally will I scan them and develop them farther in Photoshop. This is one of those few.

This is Nulia, a city on the Southern most continent of my fantasy world. What you see is only a small portion of the city – most of it is under the mountains.

I started out by just sketching with pencil on paper. The initial lines were very rough, just plans for where I wanted things to be. I also created some elevation marks at this stage.Once I had the broad design figured out, I went in and started drawing the blocks and therefore the streets in between them.

When I had a drawing I was happy with, I scanned it into Photoshop for the coloring and shading. I used a light blue on “color burn” for the water black on “soft light” for the elevation, which created a problem. The highest points were too dark for me to be able to see the pencil lines well. So, I went in again with white on “overlay” to bring out the buildings and walls in the darkest sections – I used the same layer mode with some of the text in these sections as well.

Paper texture.

One thought on “Map of Nulia

Leave a Reply

