Why I did not finish Assassin’s Quest by Robin Hobb

45112
This isn’t just a bad scan – my cover’s this yellow. Seriously, it looks like someone spilled yellow paint on it. The colors are flat and the sky’s even green.

Assassin’s Quest by Robin Hobb.

I’m not rating this one as I didn’t finish. If you want, you can go ahead and discount the entire review because I only got 218 pages in before calling it quits. If you want to know why I quit, keep reading.

Assassin’s Quest is the third in a trilogy. I had to constantly remind myself of this as I slogged through. Also, that the beginnings of the first two books had been slow but had paid off in the end.

However, I eventually realized that I was avoiding reading Assassin’s Quest. Whenever I thought of reading, I would immediately try and find something else to do. Because I only like reading one book at once, this was preventing me from reading other, better books.

My main problem with the Farseer trilogy has always been the protagonist, Fitz. I never liked him. At the start of things, I didn’t dislike him either, but as the series went on, found myself becoming more and more fed up with him. It seems like every decision he makes is calculated to generate more aghast.

At least after two hundred pages (and however many pages in the last book) he finally figures out that his girl friend was pregnant. It was pretty obvious, but then again, Fitz has never struck me as very bright.

I kept hoping that one of the few secondary characters (namely, Ketricken) I liked would show up but to no avail. Besides Fitz Farseer, the only supporting characters in two hundred pages are Butrich and briefly, Chad.

I might have been able to get past this if Fitz was doing something interesting. Instead, when given the chance to do anything in the world he wants, he goes on an ill planed out and utterly pointless attack against Regal. All he thinks about is his want for revenge. He never thinks about who will become king after Regal, or if losing the only ruler (albeit a bad one) will plunge the country into deeper problems or even a civil war. He never even thinks about how to kill Regal. I don’t think he’s using his brain at all, which is generally my problem with Fitz.

Maybe the second half of the book’s great, but this is a long book. From where I was, there was over five hundred pages left. I couldn’t stomach spending that much more time with Fitz and his aghast.

However I did notice that my thoughts kept drifting away to the Liveship trilogy. I think that one holds more promise.

Leave a Reply

