Massive Amounts of Traditional Art

I work more in traditional media than I do in digital. However, I’m not very good about photographing of scanning  my pieces. They tend to build up into massive drifts of artwork. Yesterday, I went through and photographed all the piled up paintings and drawings. Also, the week before was spent in an intensive thirty hours of art classes. Some of the pieces from that are included in here, others were passed along for the art show.

This is some fan art of Cosima from Orphan Black, an excellent TV show. The base of the painting was made with instant coffee (which actually works a lot like watercolor). Then, I took some watercolor and fine pointed sharpies and went in on top.

I actually did this water color painting several months ago, at around the same time I did the painting I use as my avatar. The blond girl you see here is Rider Valkoinen, one of my characters. I created the painting by letting some watercolors bleed and spread against the paper. Then, I outlined the design in pencil, went in with yet more watercolors, and then with some prismacolor colored pencils.

Blue DressThis one’s a painting based on a picture out of a fashion magazine. I was experimenting with mixed media more than anything.

I took some green latex house paint and slapped it down onto the sheet of paper. I drew on the image, then filled in some basic colors with watered down acrylic paint. The acrylic wasn’t giving me the level of refinement that I wanted, so I went into it yet again, this time with colored pencil. However, the pencil wasn’t doing so well on the surface of the house paint. It was vibrant and colorful but kept catching on the texture of the paint and giving a rougher feel than I wanted. I tried oil pastels then, and they worked like a charm.

 

AngelThe drawing of the angel was done many months ago. I’m not that happy with it – there’s just not the sense of realism that I was going for.

I do think I succeeded in pushing the contrast however. Regular graphite just doesn’t give those dark blacks I want, so I went in with a black colored pencil and some compressed charcoal for this one. I also created some of the lighter grays with willow charcoal.

Something about the camera or the lighting destroyed the colors in this acrylic painting… or two paintings? The two wings on the outside fold back to show another image. It was made from a piece of canvas board that had it’s top lopped off and fashioned into the sides. I’m still not completely happy with it, but I think my skill with acrylic is improving. Anyway, it was inspired by the myth of the Judgement of Paris and the golden apple.

One day, there was a big wedding at Mount Olympus. All of the gods and goddesses were invited – except for Eris, goddess of discord. Eris was angry at this slight, and so she created a shining golden apple with the words “for the most beautiful” inscribed on it. She broke into the wedding party and hurled the apple into a knot of goddesses. Immediately, fighting started breaking out with each of the goddesses claiming that the apple was meant for her. At the end of the fight three contenders remained: Athena, goddess of wisdom and craft; Aphrodite, goddess of love and beauty; and Hera, the queen of the gods who ruled marriage and child birth (pictured left to right). These three goddesses took their dispute to Zeus, king of the gods, and asked him to decide who was the most beautiful.

Now, Zeus was too smart to fall for this – he knew that whatever answer he gave, two of the three would be infuriated with them. So, Zeus told them to take the question to Paris, the prince of Troy and most handsome mortal man alive. The goddesses did, appearing all at once to Paris on a hillside in their nude beauty (classical artists loved to portray this moment, for the obvious reasoning). But none of the goddesses were willing to let it be a fair contest, and each bribed Paris into picking her. Athena offered to make him the wisest man in the world. Hera offered to make him the ruler of the world of men. Aphrodite offered to give him the most beautiful women in the world. Paris, who was obviously not thinking with his head, chose Aphrodite as the victor. This decision ultimately lead to the Trojan War, which is pictured on the fronts of the two folding panels. Aphrodite, the victor, is depicted holding the golden apple with the other two goddesses eyes enviously upon it.

Leave a Reply

